Fearless Poetry Challenge

I’m signing up for the 2011 Fearless Poetry Challenge! x Serena, the hostess of this exciting new challenge, was my Secret Santa Giftee one year and I have always appreciated her love and passion for poetry. This year she is providing more incentive for me to dive into poetry. Frankly, when I am asked to think of a book blogger who loves poetry, Serena is at the top of the list.

Click on this button:      to learn more about the challenge and explore her blog Savvy Verse and Wit.

It’s easy!   We non-poetry-minded readers are asked to read ONLY ONE book of poems!     How could I say no?

Thusly, to announce my commitment to one collection; I hereby declare that I officially choose Neon Vernacular by  Yusef Komunyakaa.    I purchased this after being convinced by Lu of Regular Rumination that it is a must-read.     Lu is the second tremendous blogger that I think of when the topic of poetry comes up.   Jeanne of Necromancy Never Pays is another.

I have already committed to reading the Erotic Works of D.H.Lawrence which also contains a few of his poems so I’m going to have two poetry books in my reading counts this year.  Yay me!

What about you?   Read any good poems lately?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 thoughts on “Fearless Poetry Challenge

  1. I am so glad you are joining the challenge and that you will be reading Yusef! He’s one of my favorites. I love his collections. He’s a must read for me as well. And you’re committing to 2 books…YEAH! Don’t forget to add your review links to the Mr. Linky with the poet’s name when you post them.

    Also, thanks for the praise and spreading the word about the challenge.

    1. Oh good! I, of course, hadn’t heard of this poet. Can’t say I could name many, really. Guess that will change when I keep after your challenge review postings. 🙂

      1. Oh, yes indeed. I came across a couple of poetry volumes whilst sorting through books, today, so I’ve been thinking about it. I decided I must stick to my guns, though, and avoid challenges for the time being. I want this to be a relaxing reading year and challenges tend to make me feel a little frantic.

  2. I’m currently in love with Todd Davis and reading all his volumes. I’ve also been re-reading Anne Sexton, as I’ve been reading the book Serena reviews today (and I’m reviewing next week) by her daughter.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

