Personal Deliberate Reading 2011

Last year, I set a personal goal to not let the year go by without reading three specific books. I chose Watership Down by Richard Adams and The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.   For the third, I couldn’t make up my mind so I went by author:   I allowed ANY book by Neil Gaiman and ANY book that I already owned by Tracy Kidder.

I was successful! WOO HOO!   

and so, I am setting the same goal of THREE “MUSTS” for 2011.

First, I am choosing to read the book that has been in my possession the longest that has yet to be read:   Erotic Works of DH Lawrence: Edited by Claire Booss and Christopher Busa;   includes Lady Chatterley’s Lover.    I’ve been carrying this book around with me since college.  That would mean that this book has *lived* at least 12 different places in 5 states over 20+ years.   It’s about time I find out if I should keep it or not.   (I’ve actually read all the poems…)

Second, I keep eyeing Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried as something I should finally get around to.        So committing to it, I shall.

make

space

since I

don’t know how to format with wrap around pics!

Third, I just have a feeling that once I read a Rosy Thornton book, I will adore this author.   So I’m putting Hearts and Minds

on my list.    I think I can blame Litlove and/or Nancy for the recommendation.

MOre

make

spaces

That’s it.   If I only read 3 books or finally somehow get to 100 — these titles will most DEFINITELY be moved from the tbr pile to the DONE-READs.

WHICH THREE BOOKS THIS YEAR ARE *YOU* COMMITTING TO?


HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
27 thoughts on “Personal Deliberate Reading 2011

  1. Congratulations on reaching your personal goal!

    I have not decided to read particular books, I have just made a general goal of reading several of the TBR books I have had for a long time.

  2. I hope you enjoy the Lawrence and the O’Brien. I love DH Lawrence; my husband and I had a reading from him at our wedding. Such a wonderful writer. 🙂

    1. Oh that is wonderful to hear! I can’t even recall why I had a fascination with him waaay back in those crazy college days and why I don’t think I ever read the books he is known for. oh well!

  3. “The Things They Carried” is an amazing book. I read it years ago and have it on my reread pile. For me this year the must-reads are “War and Peace”, “Midnight’s Children” and “Catch-22”.

    1. I read Catch-22 a long time ago but I recall ‘getting’ it, if that makes sense. I should re-read that one – it’s not long, if I recall, just a bit odd? I have Midnight’s Children on a challenge list so I might be up for that this year, too but no way am I ready for War and Peace. 🙂

  4. You won’t regret reading The Things They Carried. It’s amazing. As to Rosy Thornton, I haven’t read her yet but I just got two books from her. Since then, I’ve seen her name all over the place as a favorite author, so I’m doubly excited that I’ve got two of her books in my TBRs. Have fun with your must reads!

  5. I just looked and LitLove did mention that particular book as a favorite comfort read. Also, I forgot to tell you I just sent your book — or, rather, my son did. I wrapped it up, thrust it into his hands with a $20 bill and sent him to the post office. He did not bring me change. Shame on him.

  6. I love that you do this because I do the exact same thing! I love the books you picked! For my three I picked Tales of the City, Jane Eyre,and A Thousand Acres.

  7. I’m committing to reading ‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’ ‘The Lovely Bones’ and ALL my readings from my summer school Maori in Parliament class. It’s not quite in the spirit of the challenge I think, but I’m going to do it anyway!!

  8. I am not sure what books I REALLY want to get through in 2011, though I have a goal to read the Iliad this summer, if possible. I think it would be a fun read, if I can understand it 🙂

  9. What a nice idea! And I do hope you love Rosy Thornton. She is an insidious writer who works her way into your heart! As for my three books, ummmmm…. I’d like to read Parade’s End by Ford Maddox Ford, even though it’s huge, and Sarah Bakewell’s How To Live, about the life of Montaigne and finally, Gone With The Wind, which I promised to read last year and never did.

  10. I definitely want to read the O’Brien book this year. I checked it out several times from the library and had to return it unread so I finally broke down and bought it. Now that I own it on my shelves I have no excuse not to read it this year!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

