16 thoughts on “Where the Red Fern Grows

  1. I can totally understand your sentiments. I credit this book, along with The Lottery Rose by Irene Hunt with sparking my childhood interest in reading. For that reason, this book has sat on my shelf unread even though I picked up a copy of it a while back at a used bookstore. While the prospect of rereading a beloved book is enticing, I fear that my adult perspective will kill the romance of memory. So there it sits, collecting dust.

  2. Shoot! Well, I haven’t read it in many many years so maybe it doesn’t hold up to adulthood, but I have shed buckets of tears over this book. I have no idea what the writing is like anymore, but all anyone has to do is mention Old Dan and Little Ann and I bawl. I couldn’t even review the Amazon blurb recently without tearing up.

    1. Truthfully, I knew NOTHING about this book when I bookmooched it and then one of my bookclubbers RUINED it for me when they said, “OH!!! IT is SO SAD! and it’s about DOGS!” Well, crap. So, I think I steeled my little cold heart to it just a bit since we all know any book about dogs will end up being sad.

  3. I wonder how I’d feel about this if I reread it as a grown-up. I haven’t reread it in years because it made me cry when I first read it, and that was before I had a dog I absolutely adored. I can only imagine how hard I would cry now.

  4. I’ve never read this one, and doubt I’d pick it up now… but had to comment on The Sea by John Banville. It was a favorite a couple years ago – an audio in the car, read at home in the evening book. Gorgeous, amazing prose, and a reader with an Irish accent – perfect in every way. Enjoy!

    1. I could only imagine myself driving along and forgetting where I am going if I listened to the audio version (for me, I’m usually in a car when I listen to a book.) I would end up in New York or somewhere foreign and unknown. Sounds wonderful! I really need to seek out more audio books.

  5. This was recommended by my kids’ elementary school for fifth-graders, which seems about the right age to me. I reread it with them, and remembered how I felt reading it the first time, as a child who grew up near the Ozarks in a much less simple time, and in a family that didn’t have a dog–it was kind of like some people describe the experience of reading Little House in the Big Woods. I thought, oh, that’s what it was like.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

