Persephone Secret Santa

I am participating in this year’s Persephone Secret Santa exchange and had SUCH FUN sending snail mail clues to my giftee!    I wonder if she figured it out…

Well, today being UNVEIL DAY, I announce to my giftee KAREN at Karen’s Books and Chocolate that I am your Secret Santa!    Has the book arrived?   Did you get my clues?  (I sent three, but screwed up the last one…)     Did you figure it out?

Happy Persephone Holiday! Happy Reading!

I know I am looking forward to reading my very first Persephone book.   Thank you Claire at Paperback Reader for organizing!

_____________

and a BIG THANK YOU to Nat of In Spring It Is the Dawn for being MY Secret Persephone Santa!    Here’s the package I received last week:

Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple

Thank you!   I’m very excited to read my very first Persephone! I hope to have it be the first book of 2011.    Or after I read The Sea by John Banville and Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls- both to complete the What’s in a Name 3 Challenge and something* by Tracy Kidder to complete my personal Year of Reading Deliberately Challenge.

I’m looking forward to getting to know Nat and Karen both a bit better in the coming year, too.    Friend me in goodreads!?!?!  🙂

I have in house Kidders’s My Detachment, Among Schoolchildren and Strength in What Remains to choose from.

* and aHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 thoughts on “Persephone Secret Santa

  1. Delighted you enjoyed yourself, Care, and thanks again for being such a fun & enthusiastic participant! I foresee next year clues flying around worldwide!

    Someone at a Distance is a brilliant book & great choice by Nat. Nobody does raw emotion & exposes the underbelly of how inane life can be like Dorothy Whipple.

  2. Claire – Thanks again for organizing and giving me the little push to inquire further into what Persephone is about.

    Helen – OH yea! I forgot to tell which book I received. (now fixed)
    I was worried that the book for my giftee would arrive late so thought the clues would help make the wait a bit less agonizing. Thanks for your comment.

  3. You’re so awesome Care! 😀 I loved Someone At a Distance; I hope you do too.

    Also, the only Kidder I’ve read of the three you own is Among Schoolchildren: it was wonderful!

  4. I must confess, I did figure it out. . . I begged a blogging friend to help me figure out your identity! Amanda at The Zen Leaf gave me a few gentle hints. The book hasn’t arrived yet but I know it will be here soon. I LOVED getting all the clues in the mail — I am so sending out clues to my Santee next year! I’d love to friend you on Goodreads. And BTW, LOVE your doggies!

  5. I love that you sent clues to your Santee! I’m sorry I didn’t do anything so fun and clever, but I do hope you enjoy the book, and your first Persephone! I warn you though, once you start, you’ll end up wanting the whole catalogue of books!
    I’m not very active on Goodreads, yet anyway, but would love to connect with you there. See you on Twitter?
    Happy reading! 🙂

    1. Yes, but it was organized outside of the publishing house. Some readers have a love affair with these grey books! Beware, it’s catching (and I haven’t yet read any.)

  6. I have loved reading the posts about Persephone Secret Santa revealed. I love that Tanabata sent you Someone From a Distance, and that you were Karenlibrarian’s Sanata. The later is a new blog to me, but quite lovely. One of the best parts of this gifting is making new friends, as you said. With the side benefit of fabulous literature!

    1. Absolutely! I can tell you ALL the bloggers I’ve met from past exchanges and it’s fun keeping up and making new friends. It makes blogging come alive.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

