What’s in a Name 2011

My choices from the books “currently in house and yet-to-read” are:

  1. A book with a number in the title: Think of a Number by John Verdon
  2. A book with jewelry or a gem in the title: Cat in a Diamond Dazzle by Carole Nelson Douglas
  3. A book with a size in the title: __  (I got nothin’)
  4. A book with travel or movement in the title: Go Ask Alice, Dead Man Walking*, Up in the Air, AA Gill is Away, My Detachment by Tracy Kidder
  5. A book with evil in the title: Bad Girls Don’t Die, Killer Angels**
  6. A book with a life stage in the title:   Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

Does my choice for the first category qualify?    Is it OK to have the word NUMBER be the number????   I did have Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith come to mind for that first category but I don’t have it in-house.

I am also not sure if all the titles I listed for category #4 qualify but  I’m leaning towards Dead Man Walking* anyway.  I was surprised how many I could find to offer on that one, though.

And sad that I had no size books.  DARN!  My goodreads tbr has a few SIZE offerings:  The History of Astronomy:  A Very Short Introduction by Michael Hoskin,

OH!   Just remembered that I loaned An Abundance of Katherines by John Green to my neighbor! Excuse to get it back!!!

Thank you Fyrefly for agreeing with me that this will qualify…   I think I’m ready for another JG book.

AND, I really am intimidated by  Midnight’s Children….  I’ve attempted it once.    I could blame the physical paperback I have, tho – VERY TINY PRINT and yellowed.    Perhaps I should get an ebook version.

PLEASE help me choose which book for the EVIL category!     and weigh in on my choice for the number one.  Thanks!

PS I still have two books to read for THIS year!    Where the Red Fern Grows and The Sea…    I think I can do it.

** I’ve been wanting and needing a reason to dive into this Civil War classic.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
4 thoughts on “What’s in a Name 2011

  1. I think the word number is perfectly acceptable. But I haven’t read any of the books on your list, so I’m afraid I’m no help with helping to narrow down the choices.

  2. Ruthiella

    I think you answered your own plea when you noted that you have been needing a reason to read “The Killer Angels”…surely that must be the “evil” title you chose!

    I read “Midnight’s Children”. I read it with a reading guide. I found that helpful, since there is a lot of symbolism and Indian history which I would not have picked up on otherwise.

    I think it is ok to have “number” actually in the title. Go for it!

  3. Pingback: I Hereby Commit Myself… part 1? « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

