The Woman in White

Thoughts   The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, Barnes & Noble Classics 2005  (orig 1859-1860), 635 pages

MOTIVATION for READING: I was enticed to read this after reading so many glowing reviews during RIP last year (and likely the year before that.)      I borrowed a print copy from my friend Holly but was caught up in a reading-slowdown in October when I got a puppy to chase after.   Reading went out the window;  I only read 2 books that month!      And then…   I was in Western Kansas with my iPad when I decided to check the free books available for my iBook application.    Hot Diggety – this novel was available.   I somehow found the place I had left off during that slump the month before and this classic was my companion under the bitter end.

LOVED IT!      

Thus, being of lax mind and out of review practice, I will point you to my favorite review of this favorite story.     Chris at BookARama captured it best, in my opinion.     And do seek out the Book Blog Search for many many more.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
25 thoughts on “The Woman in White

    1. Which reminds me – – I still haven’t read the intro/notes!! (I ended up reading the last half of the book on my ereader and need to find where I put the physical book now)

  1. This book really intimidates me for some reason. And yet I really, really, really want to read it!!! Perhaps with heavenly-sounding mug of raspberry hot chocolate that a very sweet, wonderful person sent me! Thank you, Care!!!

    1. *SMILES* You are so welcome. Well, if it intimidates you because it is a doorstopper in size/weight, then I *get* it. It really reads fast, actually. Just has a lot of words. (hee hee)

  2. I am glad you liked this one. When you think about how old it is, it is truly amazing that Wilkie Collins can grab your attention for several hundred pages. In my humble opinion, Jane Austen and Dickens are the only classical writers who do it better.

  3. I have the coolest edition of this book (though really I like The Moonstone better) — it’s slightly bigger than a regular hardback and it has beautiful color plates. The book’s already awesome but I sort of love having the pictures. 🙂

  4. Yay!!! Glad to find out you indeed ended up liking the book despite the slump! Actually, I did pretty much the same thing with this book. Tried to read it once, didn’t get very far, put it away, two months later came back and read it all very quickly. 😀 Maybe it’s just one of those “right timing” sorts fo books.

  5. Pingback: Save Me – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

