The Witch of Hebron

Thoughts   The Witch of Hebron:  A World Made by Hand novel by James Howard Kunstler, Atlantic Monthly Press 2010 UNCORRECTED PROOF, 334 pages

Thank you to Alix of HEETR for sending me this book.      I was hoping I would be ready for a dystopia book since I absolutely loved Oryx & Crake by Margaret Atwood, but this one didn’t quite work for me.   I realize I was in the middle of a reading slump and perhaps I was only ultra cranky and picky but a few things tripped me up enough that I put the book aside.   I also abandoned The Woman in White and flipped through the beginning pages of A Dog’s Purpose but without succumbing back into any kind of reading-nonslump.    Oh, and I had a new puppy to chase:

HOWEVER…    I want to end this Thoughts-Post (non-review) on a positive note!

My parents came to visit for Thanksgiving so I handed my father this book to read!   He devoured it.   He said it was good.

I asked, “Was it compelling?   Enthralling?”   and he said, “Yes.”    He also gave a quick recap which I failed to jot to paper but something along the lines of ‘dire future possibilities’.

This book is the second in a series but I don’t think it matters if you read the first.   Dad didn’t seem to think it suffered by not having read the first.

SO.  There you have it.

He said to give it THREE SLICES OF PIE.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 thoughts on “The Witch of Hebron

  1. Great photo.

    I don´t like dystopia at all, but I liked this post because you let us hear what your father thought about it. It is important to remember that I may like what you don´t – and the other way round. So when I criticize a book, I also try to make it clear why, and that this is only my opinion.

  2. Slumps suck. You’re smart to put stuff aside Care. I really admire you for that. I’ve been in a slump since Readathon and just keep reading book after book after book, not enjoying any of them. I haven’t loved a book in nearly two months and I’m thinking I really should just put them all away for a month! But I don’t. I just keep reading. Sigh.

  3. I totally love the puppy-chasing pic! Love the new header, too. Sorry you’re all slumpish. I’ll have to see if I can find something wonderful to send you. I missed your post on tour books, but you know . . . I totally get that. You have to do what works for you. I’ve occasionally stopped taking on ARCs and tour books, but now and then I’ll take on a bunch, just for the joy of getting books in the mail. The most important thing I’ve found is that my reading improves if I don’t force myself through any books that aren’t working. Reading should be fun. Hope you find something wonderful to read, soon.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

