Short Reviews of Two Booklets

Thoughts

Feminism is for EVERYBODY – Passionate Politics by bell hooks, South End Press 2000, 118 pages.

This did not read easy.   For a booklet with ‘for Everybody’ in the title, I assumed it would be accessible but I found it highly academic, boring and dry.    It is a treatise but not one at all to win anyone over if they had any questions about what feminism is and how it could be related to or fit into an everyday regular-mill life.       Maybe (and I admit this fully), I have too perfect a life?     I am not that interested in getting highly and actively involved with politics and this book must assume I do.     Please forgive me if I expected the wrong things.

Per the title, it read the very opposite of passionate!   Not to say that she didn’t bring up many truths; she did make claims that I understand and support but she did not win me over to action.    Frankly, when I purchased this, I expected to praise it and sing out hallelujah with each essay but, alas, no.    I fully expect bell hooks fans to tell me which book I should read; and I invite this whole-heartedly!

Thank you.   My hope is that this is only a book that should be read further in to her oeuvre?

They’re Not Dumb, They’re Different:  Stalking the Second Tier, “An Occasional Paper on Neglected Problems in Science Education”   by Sheila Tobias, Research Corporation 1990

Back of the book blurb:   They’re Not Dumb, They’re Different is a study to determine why students abandon science for other disciplines.

Whatever possessed me to purchase this (for a dime) at a library sale in southeastern Nebraska?   Well, the fact that perhaps I was not a good candidate for the degree program in college that I signed up for.    Hmmmm.   Engineering wasn’t easy but I stuck with it.   Matter of pride, of economics, of belief that I was ‘smart enough’ but that doesn’t mean I found a good fit.

This booklet describes a study of placing students into pre-engineering and science classes to find out why they would or would not MAJOR in these programs.     I found it quite interesting.   It also stirred up memories of people I met as a freshman and why people chose to major in engineering.     I recall a girl who had a one-year full scholarship to the College of Engineering who fully intended to take the money and switch to Business since she couldn’t qualify for any dollars from that college!     She knew she was ‘smart enough’ to get an engineering degree but it was ‘boring’.

I also thought this book would address how we can encourage more women to study for  traditionally male careers.   It touched on it some but its focus was not gender-based.

Anyhoo, what I got out of it was that Engineering schools have (had?) no interest in wooing over anyone who ‘might’ be interested in sciences.  They prefer to scare new students and allow that only the tough should survive.    So if ‘kids’ abandon these programs are they stupid or was it the educational style?    Who says there is a shortage of engineers, anyway?     Supply and demand – if fewer engineers are graduated, than starting salaries remain high.   What’s the problem?    No problem.

Thus, professors need not concern themselves with being excellent EDUCATORS and students only just need to study hard and really want to be scientists and engineers.     All those who pass through this system subscribe to it, endure it and perpetuate it.  Thus,  we breed ‘typical’ engineers;  the stereotypes fit.       Smart kids who could do well if they had classes that appealed to their personalities or styles of learning are not being encouraged and thus miss out on what could be an excellent career choice.   Or not.

Unfortunately, I am not in a position to know much about whether or not this is still a problem nor if any schools addressed the idea of reform pertinent to the results of this study.   The document was published 2o years ago.   I found the study interesting, nonetheless.    And it was no help in my quest to grow up and figure out what I want to do with myself for the rest of my life.    I have a pretty good gig* right now , but I feel like I should ‘do’ something more…

* ‘keeping the house’, caring for and training the dogs, volunteering, reading & book-blogging, practising yoga, tutoring in math, and occasionally substitute teaching…    I am very thankful for my life and appreciate all that I have.  Happy Thanksgiving!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
2 thoughts on “Short Reviews of Two Booklets

  1. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a better experience with the book. While I didn’t find it as exciting either, I’m definitely more of an activist – but that is likely in part because I’ve experienced and seen many expressions of sexism, racism, and classism and so it is something that I think is incredibly important. I really really really really loved the only other book I’ve read by her, Ain’t I A Woman 🙂

    1. Thanks Amy, I will read that one. I will go right now and reserve it from the library. I really have responded well to the quotes everyone has been including in their reviews of FIFE so I am not sure why it didn’t sit so well with me. I do think it is very important and I admire your activism.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

