Frankenstein

Thoughts   Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Dover Publications 1994 (orig pub’d 1831), 166 pages  (or 9 CDs)

Genre:  Classic?   Horror?!    Challenge:  RIP V.

I was listening to the audio* of this but it was due back to the library before I made it even 2/3 of the way.   I returned it.   I was having trouble focusing on it anyway or I was laughing at all the “WRETCHEDNESS!!!”-esses so floweryly** expressed.

I still own the book so maybe, someday, I’ll pick it up again.   I have this funny feeling that in a class with the right teacher, this would be a fascinating look at ‘humanity.’

DNF = Did Not Finish.

* If you missed my bad poetry review that I wrote awhile back, you didn’t really miss anything.
** What?  Don’t like floweryly?   flowerily?  oh well.   It seems to be the best word I could invent that fit.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
20 Responses to “Frankenstein”


  1. 1 bermudaonion October 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Flowery writing is probably best read, not listened to.

    • 2 Care October 21, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Yes, it was a bit distracting! I would hear a phrase like ‘the astonishment which I had first experienced gave place to delight and rapture’ and I would think to myself, ‘delight and rapture?!’ and then miss the next 5 minutes rethinking the phrase…

  2. 3 softdrink October 20, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Well, you know how I felt about this one, so I applaud your decision to not finish.

  3. 5 Dorte H October 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I might not have read if if I hadn´t been a teacher, but as it is, I found several aspects to like, e.g. the theme of men playing Gods (or women?) by giving life to a creature :D

  4. 7 Erin October 20, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    I haven’t read this one, and I’m not really sure I want to. Especially after your DNF review!

    • 8 Care October 21, 2010 at 11:48 am

      I must say that if I had realized it was intended as some kind of morality tale rather than an entertaining monster story, I probably would have been more ready for it. I started so confused. And as Kathy the BermudaOnion says, reading this is probably better than listening. Listening might be better as a RE-read.

  5. 9 Marie October 21, 2010 at 7:08 am

    When I tried to read this I found it was too different from the popular culture notions of Frankenstein for me to get into it- it just wasn’t what I expected. Oh well! :-)

  6. 11 Amanda October 21, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Sorry you didn’t make it through. I really enjoyed Frankenstein, but then again, I DID read it with a class and that might have made all the difference in the world.

    • 12 Care October 21, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Amanda, I do think I came into it with the WRONG expectations. I can see why it is a classic and maybe now that I know it isn’t just an entertaining monster story, I could be compelled to try it again. Maybe annotated next time?

  7. 13 Jeanne October 21, 2010 at 11:43 am

    It’s hard to get in the mood for the idea of humanity as wretched when you have a new puppy around.

  8. 17 Debi October 21, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Well, I for one, will not argue with your decision to not renew it. I still have to say that I’m glad you started it though–’cause I still love your poem! :D

  9. 19 Valerie October 25, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    When I read this last year for Dueling Monsters, I got a copy that had the two versions of Frankenstein…the earlier version was written by Mary Shelley herself; and then the second edition was edited and influenced by her husband Percy Bysshe Shelley. He should have left it alone — it’s more flowery than the original was!

    • 20 Care October 28, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Valerie! I can’t find any ref to whether or not mine was the edited and enhanced(?) version or the orig. VERY interesting. I’m glad I own the book – and I love the cover. Maybe someday I will really sit and read the whole thing. I was amazed how long it was for a 160 page book.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

Twitter Updates

Happy Easter!

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

