R.I.P. V (oh my!)

I’m in again for R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril!    In fact, I’ve been hoarding books all year that are suitable for a Fall read and want to commit to Peril the First:

The Likeness by Tana French

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (yes, I have this cover!   I love it.)

Mary Reilly by Valerie Martin

Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White

Woman in the Dark by Dashiell Hammett

and, in audio, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

H

H

I also have to read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close for my bookclub and I’m taking it on an upcoming trip so I will be trapped with only this to read.   It willbe my third attempt to get past page 35.     Do you think I can count it for R.I.P.?     Suspense,maybe?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
29 thoughts on “R.I.P. V (oh my!)

  1. All your books look good–I’m curious about Mary Reilly especially–and yay, I’m excited that you’re reading Neverwhere! You know there is a BBC miniseries of it too? Or actually, there was a BBC miniseries of it FIRST, and then Neil Gaiman wrote the book subsequently because some of the things in the miniseries were not quite what he was envisioning.

    1. I’m going to listen to Neverwhere! I’m so excited… but I still have to add it to my iPad or mp3player or something. (Physical books are so much easier…) NO! I did not know about the miniseries. Just might have to get that from Netflix if they have it.

  2. I like the story of how Shelley came to write Frankenstein.

    As for Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close — best of luck to you! I read it a few years back and cried and cried. I don’t know that I would say I liked it, but I certainly had a strong emotional reaction to it.

  3. Lots of good looking books there! I need to figure out what my next read is going to be. I didn’t do a peril pool this year, and now I am stumped… Mind you, if I make a list I never follow it anyways. Just one of those things! Have fun reading!

    1. I know what you mean! Just gathering an option list if half the fun. I like the words ‘peril pool’ and btw… WELCOME back – you’ve been on a break, yes? 🙂

  4. I consider the Foer book more of a personal drama 🙂 Then again, I’ve read it a long time ago the only images stuck to my head are the last few pages of eh, photos (which I can’t post here since you’re still reading it). Hahaha!

    But I do love your list. I haven’t read Frankenstein (goodness) and I’m looking forward to The Woman in White within the challenge period as well (even if it’s not on my pool). Hope you enjoy Neverwhere. It’s my first Gaiman book.

    1. Yes, I agree. NOT quite right for the theme of RIP. but wow. I absolutely loved (and knew I would) all the photos and stuff scattered through this novel.
      I know, I love my list! Better get started on it and stop admiring it.

    1. I know! It’s an awesome list. I’m spending too much time just admiring myself for collecting such a great pile.
      My hub just finished The Maltese Falcon so I’m throwing THAT on my list, too (before he gets the movie – I want to read before seeing!) and I know YOU love crime thrillers. You HAVE read Maltese Falcon, yes????

  5. Pingback: The Likeness « Care's Online Book Club

  6. She

    Double yays for Neverwhere!

    As for Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, I am going to say that it isn’t an RIP V, but that’s just me. It is pretty awesome though– I found it quite hilarious (and depressing of course).

    1. Triple YAYS for Neverwhere!!
      Now that I’ve finished ELaIC, I agree that it’s not quite right for RIP but I, too, found it hilarious and depressing and more quirky than I expected.

    1. Eva! SO GOOD to see your comment. 🙂
      I’ve got the large print version of Mary Reilly which means it looks bigger/longer than it is – love my large print no-need-for-reading-glasses books that zoom.
      Review of Foer’s up soon.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

