For Rhonda

I have a friend who likes to read and she asked me to recommend some books from my bookshelves (ie LOAN something to her!) and this is what I’m bringing when I see her tonight:

Daphne DuMaurier’s Jamaica Inn (love love love lurve DuMaurier)

The Apostle by Brad Thor (This was my hub’s summer read and he just finished.  I’m still trying to talk him into reviewing it here but so far, no go.)

Matthew Pearl’s The Poe Shadow (Pearl’s second.  His debut, The Dante Club, was tremendous, imo)

Geraldine Brooks’ People of the Book (a gift from BeastMomma!  Thank you – I’m excited to read this — hopefully soon but I have a few more challenge reads to get out of the way first.)

Stewart O’Nan’s Songs for the Missing (somehow, I acquired two copies of this.)

Anita Shreve’s Resistance (She really liked Sarah’s Key. Though these books may not be comparable (?), they do share the WWII setting.)

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives by Josie Brown (I love saying the title out loud.   This is a BEA/BBC book.)

Cat in a Diamond Dazzle by Carole Nelson Douglas (mystery – she likes mysteries;  I rescued this from the Nursing Home library where its non-LargePrint-ness put it on the discard shelf.)

I’ve not read any of these;  I rarely keep books I’ve already read.    Have you read any? My friend and I have dissimilar tastes in books, unfortunately.   She loves books I can’t get into and vice versa, but we agreed that Overboard was riveting and that Tana French writes thrilling crime novels.     I am surprised and delighted that she trusts that I have something/anything she might enjoy!

Here’s betting that she’ll take the Brooks and the Shreve.     I’ll let you know…

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
20 thoughts on “For Rhonda

  1. Ruthiella

    I haven’t read any of them either. I have read “Rebecca” by DuMaurier (twice). And I read “The Dante Club” by Pearl, which I enjoyed but did not love as much as I thought I would.

    So you rarely keep books you have read? I wish I could say the same. This year, in a effort to economize, I am reading only library books, books I already own or those borrowed from friends. I have, however, purchased a five books from the library for $1 (a vast improvement from the hundreds of dollars I used to drop at Borders or Amazon.) It used to be that once I owned a book, I had a hard time parting with it; especially if it was a hard cover. And I wanted to own them all. I still dream of some day having a library room at home.

    1. I rarely re-read books and I’ve moved a LOT so I never neede to keep books. I give away most on bookmooch.com.

      How odd that we have read Rebecca and Dante Club. or not. I read both for book clubs.

      1. Ruthiella

        “Rebecca” is a great book (and a great movie too, with Joan Fontaine. What a story! I read my mom’s copy I think, originally. Then I re-read it at work, on breaks, as I happened to find a copy lying around.

  2. I am almost certain I have read every book by Daphne DuMaurier. It’s probably time to start rereading some of them. I read them about 30 years ago. Come to think of it I have so many books to read already I don’t think I will have time to reread them for at least 20 years.

    1. Joan!! Joan Harvest!!! SO GOOD to see you here. Thank you. If you like Daphne, we need to discuss The House on the Strand. Read that one?! I want to read it again!! I know what you mean abt re-reading or even READING ALL of the ones we want to! Not enough time… (especially when time is devoted to taking note of dumbasses and Presidents on Vacation…)

  3. Oooh, I still need to read most of my BEA books. I have the Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives by Josie Brown and agree it’s a great title.

    If you like short stories, you may like The Secret Lives of People In Love by Simon Van Booy. He’s just fabulous.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

