Have you read Never Let Me Go?

Some twitter buzz has been highlighting the movie trailer for Never Let Me Go and I feel I must say my two cents.

As much as I’m thrilled that the cast includes Carey Mulligan AND Kiera Knightley  (I was just posting about how much I enjoyed Mulligan in An Education), I’m also thinking that ALL the DIALOGue in the trailer is too

SPOILERFULL!!!

of the whole concept of the book!

SO.   If you have NOT read Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro but think you might want to AND especially if you don’t like to know much about a book when you start it, I suggest you NOT watch, not discuss, not do anything but find the book and read it – do not even read the blurbs or back cover or anything.    Just start in.

IGNORE THIS LINK:

This concludes my public service announcement.    (which I’m sure I’ve ruined by posting the link… sigh)

If you have read the book and viewed the trailer, do you agree with me?    or not.    Feel free to share your yay/nay opinion.  🙂  And if you’re not sure?    Maybe Nicole at Linus Blanket will help sway you – she both agrees and disagrees with me in her post on this same topic!

Will I still see the movie?   Yes, of course.

AndHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
21 thoughts on “Have you read Never Let Me Go?

  1. Ha! It was very spoilerful, but then nothing in the ok really surprised me either. I am curious to see how they approach it since it seems that most things that were hidden in the book are on full display in the movie. The trailer might be the best part! I guess we will see.

    1. LOL! exactly! which is why I think you both agree and disagree with me, right? since you figured it out while reading – I didn’t and was all OMG!! the movie will RUIN it!

  2. The movie looks beautiful, and yes, the trailer does give everything away. By giving veiwers a taste of a heart-rending love story they are targeting a much larger audience then those who read the book. I loved the book, I will see the movie.

  3. I thought the exact same thing! I was so disappointed with how much they gave away. So much of the story is the “twist” in the end. It would be a completely different book if you knew exactly where it was going the whole time. I read the book and really enjoyed it, but I don’t think I would have liked it as much if I’d seen this trailer first.

  4. I am one of the few people who didn’t really like the book, but I would see the movie anyway! But it really is getting so that if you go to see previews, you have no need to see the movie anymore with all the spoilers! I just hate that!

  5. Argh, my computer is so slow and will not stream video! My recollection from reading the book (it’s been a while) is that the “twist” was pretty easy to figure out. Of course I read the end…but I think I had already figured it out, and went and read the end to confirm.

  6. I agree that the trailer gives it all up. 😉 That being said, perhaps the movie’s taking a different track? With the book, Ishiugro’s writing style could hint that something was wrong…with a movie, I don’t think you could do that. So the filmmakers might have decided it made more sense to get it all out in the open right away and spend more time on the pathos/philosophical bits.

    I do feel bad for someone who wants to read the book though and sees the preview. 😦

    I love Carey Mulligan too, but I’m not sure if I’ll go see this…I love Ishiguro so much for his writing I’m not sure how I’d feel seeing his stories translated into movies (I haven’t seen Remains of the Day either, despite adoring Anthony Hopkins & Emma Thompson).

    1. I think the movie Remains of the Day is better than the book!

      Gavin has similar theories of how the movie people might have had to approach a visual telling. Should be interesting and I bet the controversy continues long after the movie comes and goes.

  7. I love this book and will definitely see the movie. I agree with you that the trailer spoils a ton about the book, which is unfortunate. But it looks like the acting and characters will be really well done. We’ll see!

  8. Thanks for the heads up not to watch the clip! I’ve seen it a couple of places but just haven’t gotten to watching it yet–thank heavens.

  9. I don’t know if it was bad timing or what, but Never Let Me Go just bored me to tears. I took it back to the library only partially read. I’m probably a good candidate for the movie. I won’t mind if it’s spoiled. Maybe that would help me get into it, next time I try. I do love Ishiguro.

  10. I spoke (very briefly!) at the Book Bloggers Convention at BEA in NYC on May 28th. I’m a blogger from Nashville, TN. We’re still reeling down here from the recent flooding. I’m issuing a challenge to book bloggers and their readers: please send books to Nashville! I’ve blogged about the project, A Dry Read, on my site: http://www.rebeccabrothers.com.

    Please visit, read, and start sending books (and your readers’ books and attention!) our way. I’d really appreciate it!

    Thanks so much–
    Becky Brothers
    Reader With a Capital “R”

  11. I’ve read the book, and while I’m looking forward to the movie, I agree that there are too many spoilers in the trailer. The horror of the book was the slow unfolding of the story- that seems lost in the film. Too bad.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

