An Education :: Book & Film

Thoughts   An Education by Lynn Barber, Atlas & Company 2009, 172 pages

MOTIVATION for READING/VIEWING (or tell me again why the heck I chose this?   anyone remember?):    Oh yea, Oh yea – for my choice of the book club selection when the fabulous idea was to choose a source book for a film we could all watch!   I wanted a short book, I wanted the movie to be available, and I wanted something…  unique.    (Two out of three!   Read all about the resulting vote for A Single Man and now do realize that I’m thrilled THRILLED! to announce that Netflix has announced a release of July for the movie starring Colin Firth!   goodie!)

An Education by Lynn Barber was on the shelf at Borders, I think.    Under 200 pages; check.     I grabbed it and ONLY knew that the actress in the film was up for the Oscar.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:    From the glance at the blurb on the back (and what little I soaked up in my not-really-paying-attention-to-the-Oscar-race, I assumed it was about a girl from the Sixties who carelessly accepted a ride from a stranger who just happened to be some kind of swingin’ jetsetter and this put her on a path of frivolous hijinks and fun.     SOUNDS GOOD.

Well, that’s not all this book is about and before you get the idea that I was disappointed, I hereby state that I enjoyed this odd memoir quite a lot.     And yet….

WHAT’s GOOD/NOT so GOOD:    There’s not a lot to it.    A ton of names of people I do not know are included and I was only slightly uneasy with wondering if I should care to know these people.    In one regard, this is a love story*; a tender tragic glimpse into a loving marriage.    It’s also peek into the early days of Penthouse magazine – huh!   Whoddathunk, right?   Apparently, Ms. Barber wrote a sex guide back in the day.   (which reminds me…   must go see if I can find that.)

SO.

How and WHAT did they put in the movie?!?!    part 2 after the jump

BOOK RATING:   Three solid slices of pie.     I actually thought about switching my rating to lobsters just to confuse you all, but I’ll stick with my pie.    This book mentions lobster.   A lot.     Copley wouldn’t be too pleased – all these lobster mentionings are of the ones that got eaten for dinner.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

* Actually, TWO love stories;   the pedophilia-icky one [DON’T FORGET TO CLICK THE LINK TO PART 2!] when she was a school-girl and then the one with the man she marries.

*

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
7 thoughts on “An Education :: Book & Film

    1. Well, the memoir is MORE. and the story featured in the film isn’t that big of a deal on the whole-life-lived shown in the book. I think that’s what I mean…

    1. I’ve got an idea for a ‘Copley Considerations’ post feature or something and this claws-up suggestion just might be the thing! Thanks.

    1. It really is a case where someone picked a small part of the memoir and expanded it into a little filmable story. It’s actually quite true to how the book discussed it; it’s just that she grows up and has so much more life lived and thus the book is MORE. When I was only expecting the book to be all about what the film was about. Does that make any sense? sigh.
      What I’m attempting to say is that LOOSELY based isn’t accurate, either. Pls do read the book and see if you agree with me?!

  1. Pingback: Have you read Never Let Me Go? « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

