Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Thoughts   Will Grayson, will grayson by John Green and David Levithan, dutton | an imprint of penguin group (usa) inc. 2010, 310 pages (for Twenty in ‘Ten Challenge and GLBT Challenge)

I was so eager to read this for many reasons.   First, I adore John Green.   I’ve read Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns;  I own The Abundance of Katherines but my neighbor is reading it first.   I don’t often rush to buy/read new releases but then I saw Debi’s review and Amanda’s review and for once, had the idea to see how long the line was at the InterLibraryLoan:  zilch.   OMG!  Could this be true?   Am I truly the only person in the Massachusetts library system who wants to read this and knows how to request from the library?   Well, that’s just too cool.   or sad.   No – it just means that I’m cooler and more in-the-know.   So that’s how this book ended up in my hands this month and had to be read soonly rather than someday-possibly which is what happens to most of the books that I buy.   PLEASE click on Amanda’s review, or any that she also links to for  a TRUEr idea of what this book is about because I’m not going to provide a synopsis.

This is my least favorite JG book but I’m still giving it 4 slices of pie.    I think this is the first that I experienced as a 40+ year old reading a YA book and feeling like a 40+ year old.     A few situations were just gross-icky almost to being distasteful-uncomfortable.    Andbutso, I recognize and move on and can say that overall, I continue to admire the author(s) ability to charm and laugh and hit at the heart of a matter.   This book has gay teenagers but it is not all about just that.   It’s about friendship and love.  Being betrayed, being yourself.   New love first love, having passionate crushes, first kisses, and how to fit in.     The endearing coincidence of two high school kids both named Will Grayson meeting randomly at the most unrandom of spots in downtown Chicago; the crazy school play by the adorable Tiny Cooper;  the harsh HARSH ‘joke’ that proves the internet can be a tool for evil as well as connection and fun; the combined words of segue (andbutso, ifbutstill).   I love that the parents are a sort of clueless yet wise and – – human;  the kids still respect them (ifbutstill they lie to them) and I love that the kids are in college-bound classes and their teachers assign great books for them to read.    I was crying happy laughing tears at the end because these books MOVE me.   Well, that’s all I need to say.    If you love John Green and David Levithan*, you’ll read this without my saying you should or shouldn’t.    If you don’t know John Green and you’re not into the Young Adult tag and this interests you a bit, may I suggest you start with Looking for Alaska?

FOUR PIES

Nancy ‘s half of a buddy review, Kailana’s side of that buddy review, Raych’s books i done read, Reading and Rooibos, and more can be found at the Book Blogs Search Engine for WGWG

* I have Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan on my tbr;  I’ve seen the film.

WORDS
multivalent – “Which is of course idiotic in the kind of profound and multivalent way that only an English teacher could fully elucidate.”   – adjective:  1.  having or susceptible to many applications, interpretations, meanings, or values.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 thoughts on “Will Grayson, Will Grayson

  1. I love it in books about high school when we find out what the kids are reading. Particularly when they apply to the characters’ real lives – I read loads of books for high school English, and I did not often feel they taught me useful lessons for my present predicaments. 😛

    1. LOL! I think you have an excellent idea for a memoir: How What I Had to Read in High School Did NOT Prepare Me for Life. or something… Yea, all I got out of most required reading was a severe dislike of a few (probably wonderful) writers.

  2. Hi Care! I personally read this book for the David Levithan aspect more than the John Green one. I wasn’t impressed with The Abundance of Katherines but I wanted to give Green another chance. On the other hand, I’ve loved almost everything I’ve read by Levithan and I think he’s an awesome writer. WGWG did not disappoint for me. It certainly had issues – if I rated in pie, I’d probably give it four slices too – but I had quite a lot of fun reading it. 🙂

  3. My anticipation factor for this book is growing by the minute!! I love that you mention it’s your least fave Green but yet it still gets 4(!!) slices of pie 😀

  4. I’ve been looking forward to this one. I love Alaska and Paper Towns. This sounds like an interesting concept, but I’ll make sure my expectations aren’t too high going into it.

    1. If only our expectations could be controlled by a turn of the dial, huh?
      I attempted to comment at your blog but I can’t tell if they ‘took’. I didn’t get any error msg but they aren’t showing. HOPE SO!

    1. You’ll have to come back and read my Looking for Alaska when you finish. My review is actually more of a “Let’s talk but only if you’ve already read it, too” kind of post.

  5. Laura (Reading and Rooibos)

    Thanks for linking to my review! 🙂 Even though I loved the book, I know what you mean about the gross-out moments. I personally could have done without that really long, detailed vomiting scene, ha.

  6. Ahhh! I just NOW remembered that I bought this book and haven’t read it yet! I guess that’s having a baby for you. ‘scuse me. Have to go read. Thanks for the reminder.

    (Hope you’re having fun at BEA.)

  7. Pingback: John Green & David Levithan – Will Grayson, Will Grayson « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

