The Threadbare Heart Mother’s Day Contest

Who’s Your Favorite Fictional Mother-Daughter Pair?   A Mother’s Day Writing Contest

[**** Updated to reinforce that the 250 word is a MAXIMUM not a minimum so don’t think you need to be verbose here!  ****]

The Threadbare Heart is a story about a mother and a daughter torn apart by grief, jealousy and misunderstanding — and the family heirloom that finally brings them together.   To celebrate its publication, and in honor of Mother’s Day, JENNIE NASH and I and all the fantastic bloggers listed below are running a Favorite Fictional Mother & Daughter! contest.  We want to know which fictional mother-daughter pair made you laugh? Made you cry? Made you cringe? Which pair revealed something true about your own mother-daughter relationships? (And yes, mothers and daughters in film are eligible. Fiction is fiction, right?)        Click HERE to read the first chapter.

HOW TO ENTER:

 From now to MAY 8, visit one of the blogs and enter UP TO 250 words explaining your favorite fictional mother-daughter pair. These are some of the best blogs about books, literature and life. Have fun exploring them – but you can only enter on one blog.    By May 8!

 ON MOTHER’S DAY, each blogger will post the entry they like best. Each blog’s winners will receive a signed copy of The Threadbare Heart and will be entered in the Grand Prize Giveaway.

 On MAY 16, JENNIE NASH will choose a Grand Prize winner from all the winning blog entries.  The Grand Prize will be announced on the participating blogs, on Jennie’s website and on twitter.

WHAT YOU WIN:
The Grand Prize winner will receive a ―Book Club in a Box!! — ten signed copies of The Threadbare Heart, a call-in from the author, and a delicious rum cake to share with your book- reading friends. (Why rum cake? You’ll have to read the book to understand! I’ve picked out a cake by a baker named Kelli because she started selling rum cakes when she lost her baking buddy to cancer and I loved her story – and I happen to think that good stories are a big part of a good life.)

Happy Mother’s Day!

.


.

> Jennie Nash

.

.

THE CONTEST BLOG ROLL

5 Minutes for Books

Bermudaonion weblog

BethFishReads

Book Club Classics

Blog Booking Mama

Books and Needlepoint

Books Like Breathing

Caribou’s Mom

Devourer of Books

Jenn’s Bookshelf

Linus’s Blanket

Lit and Life

Literary Mama

Manic Mommie’s Book Club

MawBookBlog

Mother Daughter Book Club

MyFriendAmy

Book Journey

Peeking Between the Pages

Redlady’s Reading Room

S.Krishna Books

She is Too Fond of Books

The Literate Housewife

Word Lily

WriteItSideways

Writing Forward

The next photo is in honor of MY mother.   She was asking me if my Hydrangea’s were blooming yet:

My hydrangea; no blossoms yet - barely has leaves!

22 thoughts on “The Threadbare Heart Mother’s Day Contest

  1. I thought it a good idea to give a few ideas as well as an example of what 250 words looks like in a comment. Mother and Dots that quickly come to MY mind are Jo from Little Women and her mom and from Pride & Prejudice: Elizabeth and Mrs. Bennett. From TV, I thought of the Gilmore Girls and Bea Arthur and her mom from Golden Girls! You could almost cite any sitcom – I was thinking Happy Days with Mrs. C and her dot Joanie? or Kitty and her crazy daughter Laurie or Donna and Midge Pinciotti from the 70s show.

    ** 250 is the MAX **

    OK – that paragraph is 100 words. Let’s keep going: We could easily reference an interesting mother-daughter relationship in Jennie Nash’s prior novel The Only True Genius in the Family. Other books that I’ve read recently suggest Mrs. Dalloway and her daughter, Meg and her wonderful scientist mom in A Wrinkle in Time, and perhaps the absence of a mother for dear feisty Flavia in The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. (yea, maybe NOT.) A sad tale of a lack of any relationship (in my opinion) is told in Elizabeth Taylor’s Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont – wonderful book!

    This marks approximately 200 words. So just open up a word doc, write a bit about the fictional mother-dot couple that popped into YOUR head and see what the word count is. Cut and paste back here or send it to me in an email at bkclubcare[AT]gmail – but remember to comment here!

    1. marjie

      Having just finished reading “Still Alice”, that mother-daughters dynamic is fresh in my mind. Thank you for the hydrangea pic, at least it shows promise!

  2. Pingback: Woo Hoo! Hello? « Idea Jump!

  3. Haha. My hydrageas have just started getting leaves. I’m hoping for some good sized blooms this year – last year they were still too small. I am not entering the contest, but just wanted to say yum to the rum cake. I don’t think there needs to be any reason for rum cake except that the day ends in a “y.” 🙂

    1. My hydrangeas never have many blooms if any. Don’t know what to do about it, either.
      Yes, rum cake is good for all days ending in ‘Y’, thank you. DO ENTER!

    1. I will be watching for your entry. (The recipe for the rum cake can be found on another blogger’s posts but I’d rather WIN one, wouldn’t you?)

  4. Mothers and Daughters, I don’t even know where to begin. It’s only in the last couple of years that my daughter and I have become close again. We had some troubled times when I was enabling my son with his drug addiction. I think I could write a book myself. There are things that happened that I can hardly think about never mind write about though I feel that one day I will share my experiences and hopefully help some other mother with a drug addicted child.

    I am going to have to think about this to come up with a book about a mother and daughter relationship that has meaning to me.

    Thanks for letting me know about this.

  5. 233 words-My entry to your contest.

    My favorite mother/daughter duo is The Gilmore Girls. This TV series was on for 7 years. I really loved the relationship that Lorelai had with her daughter, Rory. We first meet the two when Rory is 15 years old and Lorelai is 31. They appear to be more like best friends but as the series progresses we learn of the complicated relationship that Lorelai has with her own mother and how it affects her own relationship with her daughter. As Lorelai raises her daughter as a single parent we share with them the ups and downs that mothers and daughters have.
    Like my daughter and I, Lorelai and Rory live in a close knit New England town where everyone seems to know everyone else. Watching the two of them is like looking in a mirror at me and my daughter.
    My daughter and I had a very close relationship through her teen years much like Lorelai and Rory. We did everything together. On a weekend she would prefer to go shopping with me than hanging out with her girlfriends. She always invited me to come with her and her friends. Soon everyone was calling me “Mom”. That ended when my son started taking Oxycontin and soon after became a heroin addict. I unintentionally became his enabler. It tore our family apart. Just like Lorelai, I learned some hard lessons about being a mom.

  6. Mothers and Daughters — ah, a topic fraught with possibilities, depending on one’s own experience. Maybe the fact that my own realtionship with my mom is murky clouds my ability to have a strong pair jump out at me from all the fiction I have read.

    Marmie(sp?) from Little Women? Certainly she raised a daughter of every female type, each of them strong in their own way.

    But what really came to mind was Scout’s mom from To Kill a Mockingbird, probably my fave book. Forget about her? Understandably so, because she died I think during Scout’s birth. But perhaps it was that loss or more accurately that lack that formed the memorable character of that observer, Scout. Trying to keep up with the boys, attached in a different way than brother Jem to Atticus, more sensitive to the social changes swirling around her that Southern summer. Her mom was there, in her genes and her makeup, to form a sad sort of pun. And that made Scout stronger and better in many ways.

  7. This is a beautiful contest for all moms! Wholesale Furniture Brokers is also having a Mother’s Day Contest. We are giving away a $1000 Gift Certificate and we are inviting you and all your readers to join. It is easy to join. You just need to post a comment on our official contest blog post on what you will spend the $1000 Gift Certificate on. Contest is open to all US and Canada. Deadline of entries will be on May 9, 2010 Midnight, PST. Visit our contest page to join. Thank you and Good Luck!

  8. Pingback: The Threadbare Heart « Care's Online Book Club

  9. Hmm where to begin? I have so many favorite mother/daughter duos. I used to watch the soaps and my favorite duo was Sam McCall and her biological mom Alexis Davis on General Hospital for many reasons. Not the least of which is that they had a wonderful, complex, very true to nature relationship. One I could relate to even knowing my mom all my life lol

    Now for literature, I am going to have to say Regan and Nora from Carol Higgins Clark’s books are the delightful duo to beat. They remind me of my mother and I in good times – we have the same interests, we enjoy the same things, we banter and gossip and have a generally wonderful time. We do have rough times but we usually pull through it with humor, just the way Regan and Nora do. They make me laugh and they make me smile and they have a close bond that we could all stand to emulate. Happy mom’s day to all the mother’s out there and the women who want to be one someday!

  10. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day! and Contest Winner Announcement « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

