New York Ditty

I’ve got my train ticket for New York!
But really, I do not.
I have a slip of paper.
With a code of vertical bars.
This bar code strip will be scanned.
Scanned at the train station,
At the station that Thursday in May.

I don’t yet have a clue what I will wear.
How much I have to pack.
I don’t want to pack at all.
I only want room for empty bags.
Bags to fill with books!
And I need to find comfortable shoes,
For the station that Thursday in May.

I’m excited to travel by train to New York!
I’ve only been once before.
Went to meet an old friend.
Was there only one day.
This time for three and I’m meeting brand new friends.
Virtual friends.
I’m traveling all alone.
But not alone, I’m sure others will be there,
At the station that Thursday in May.

I won’t really be all alone on the trip.
I have my pet lobster.
Not a real lobster.
One of fabric.
A gift from a friend.
Just one of many book blogging friends,
I will be thinking about
When the train pulls away,
From the station that Thursday in May.

Thank you Fizzy Thoughts for hosting this New York April mini-challenge.  I enjoyed my attempt.  (and I want to WIN!   How’d I do?)

H

ThanIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
24 thoughts on “New York Ditty

  1. Aw, I love it! And totally sympathize with the desire to pack only books and no clothes. I am planning a summer trip (not, alas, to New York), and the only plans I have made so far are book-related. :/

    1. I know I will only have train time to read but I hope to score a loot of books. But really, I’m most excited abt meeting all the bloggers.

    1. OOooo! New avatar?! I am so glad you stopped by to read my poem. I always think of YOU when I think ‘poetry’. Will be so fun to meet you!

  2. So cute! I hope you have a great time in New York! I just finished reading a great book about New York, Let the Great World Spin, and it makes me want to go too!

  3. so cute! here’s my little ode to all you lucky ducks going to NYC:

    even though i’m only a mere 58 miles away,
    i won’t be visiting you all in new york that day.

    instead, i’ll be on an overnight trip with my students and peers,
    and if the kids act up, i’ll probably be in tears.

    i hope that you and the bloggers have a heck of a time,
    and that you, my dear care, have enjoyed my little rhyme!

  4. tarynwanderer

    Wow–your poem is fan-freakin’-tastic! I love the repetition of “the station that Thursday in May.” You should not be shy to share your poetry! 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

