Love Begins in Winter

Thoughts   Love Begins in Winter by Simon Van Booy, Harper Perennial 2009, 227 pages

DEAR FRIEND-WHO-LOVES-EVOCATIVE-BOOKS,
SPACE/TAB Do I have a book to recommend to you!

Dear Friend-Who-Reads-Poetry,
SPACE/TAB Have you ever read any Simon Van Booy?   His writing is poetic…

Dear Friend-Who-Reads-Mostly-Patterson-&-Picoult,
SPACE/TAB Oh, I’m sorry?  Did you say something?  You asked me what’s the best book I’ve read lately?  OH, um, you probably have never heard of it; but it’s REALLY GOOD!     But, it’s… um,  moving.  But not a lot happens, really.   AND quietly almost sad?     Um – Actually, it’s a short story collection – but they’re beautiful!     Want  me to loan it to you?

Dear Friend-Who-Lives-in-Mississippi-Who-Rec’d-SVB,
SPACE/TAB Oh, THANK YOU!   I loved it!   And it’s SO COOL to see your name in the Acknowledgements.   *SMILES*

Dear Reader-Of-This-Post-Who-Is-Still-Here,
SPACE/TAB Would you like me to quote a bit?

“It’s true the people we meet shape us.  But the people we don’t meet shape us also, often more because we have imagined them so vividly.
There are people we yearn for but never seem to meet.  Every adult yearns for some stranger, but it is really childhood we miss.  We are yearning for that which has been stolen from us by what we have become.”

This is from one of the stories (Tiger, Tiger) that was most haunting for me, and yet not in a scary ghostly way but in a thought-echoing way.  Simon Van Booy’s writing makes you feel like you are underwater and every thing is crisp-clear and the rest of the world is muffled-sound.   I can’t describe the solemnness I felt while immersing in the world of these stories.   And yet, you might think the next emotion to jump to would be ‘depressing’ and these stories are NOT.

I was moved.  I was awed.    Some stories – there are only five – I liked more than others which is fine, to be expected, welcomed even.   And I was both entranced by the simple sentence (subject -> verb, subject -> verb, etc) structure of the very first story and also caught by it;  I was in a net – I was a fly in the spiderwebbed words.    I will re-read this, I will.*

I ended one story and caught myself stifling the burst of a sob!

Dear Friend-Who-Loves-Those-Half-Flaps-for-BookMarking-Pages,
SPACE/TAB This book itself is beautiful to hold and feel and touch.    Which is not a usual thing to say about a tradeback.

Dear Friend-Who-Wants-the-Chance-to-WIN-This-Book,
SPACE/TAB Visit Nancy, the BookFool’s blog – she is hosting a giveaway – but you have to hurry because it ends March 7, Sunday, TOMORROW! Sorry, I have been trying to write this review for days but have been quite intimidated.

I really loved the writing.     Five Pieces of Chocolate Silk Pie with Dark Chocolate Curls topping the Meringue (I don’t know if Chocolate Silk Pie HAS meringue but I would if I made it…)

P.S. Do you want to read some REAL reviews?       Nancy, Wendy, Lesley, GavinThe-Book-Blog-Search-I-Found-Most-of-These-Reviews

P.S.S. Oh! If/when you read this! Read the section in the back about Meeting the Author and the What I Do When I’m Not Writing Books – Simon Van Booy shows that he is a fascinating FUN guy and more than just an amazing story writer! I cannot wait to try the recipes.  And to read ALL of his books.

* I’m only now (maybe) starting to be a re-reader….

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
35 thoughts on “Love Begins in Winter

  1. GOODNESS! THAT was fast. What craziness that you are (as am I) blogging on a Saturday night?

    @Beastmomma- your trip sounds wonderful; good luck on the start of a job search – BE ORGANIZED is what I want to say to you. Don’t feel bad about concentrating on a way to track what you are doing with a job search and let me know if I can help… OH, I’ll email you here in a sec – or tomorrow. Promise.

    @Lisa, I am not a big short story collection reader but what I have read, I recommend heartily. WHAT did you read? I’m curious…

  2. I loved how you wrote this! And so glad that you also found the magic in Van Booy’s book. He is really an amazing writer, isn’t he? Thanks for the link to my review!

  3. You’ve convinced me to look for this book ASAP. I love the quote you have picked, and the review format!

    I’ll go over to Nancy’s blog to see if it’s too late for me to enter…

  4. I love the way you wrote your review, Care, and I’m so happy that you love Simon’s writing as much as I do!!! That latter section really gives you a terrific glimpse of the artist behind the pen (or keyboard), doesn’t it? And, he certainly is an artist.

    Definitely bake that pie. I’m drooling.

  5. I am on the look-out for short story collections. This one has been on my list for a while, but your post has convinced me to read it sooner rather than later. I’ll keep Tiger, Tiger in mind as I’m reading.

  6. You picked an amazing quote! I never find myself really on the hunt for short story collections, but now that I’m finished writing (at least for now until the sequel 😉 ) I am immersing myself into all kinds of reading…thanks for this! 😀

  7. I am dying to read Love Begins in Winter. I’m not real familiar with Van Booy’s work but everyone says the writing is just beautiful.

    1. The first word I want to say is haunting and – I put this in the post, didn’t I? I need another synonym that isn’t gloomy. It is other-worldy? nah, If it was a color it would be dark blue but not yet navy… I’m such a weirdo.

  8. Right now I am reading something totally unexpected for me: “If you have to cry, go outside” by Kelly Cutrone, Fashion PR queen and reality TV show star. This woman cuts right through the b*llshit, and I hardly EVER read memoir/motivational books, but…I don’t think I’ve ever felt as motivated as I do after reading her book…just funny and real. I’m going to her book signing in Toronto on Monday 😉

  9. Pingback: End of Year Thoughts on 2010 Reading « Care's Online Book Club

  10. Pingback: Everything Beautiful Began After « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

