Weekly Geeks Spotlight on Haiti

The Weekly Geeks Meme Theme for the third week of 2010 is to focus on the country of Haiti.

I’m choosing to share a favorite book by a favorite author:    Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder.

From goodreads.com:

A documentation of the life of Paul Farmer, “a man who would cure the world”.

Tracy Kidder follows Paul Farmer around the world and back trying to understand the strange man who never gave up on his adolescent ideals and never grew up. Through interviews and shared struggles, Kidder starts to understand the complex and brilliant man just as you, the reader starts understanding and sympathizing him as well.

When Paul Farmer was just a student and visited Haiti, he found his life calling there. He traveled sporadically back and forth from Harvard to Haiti to attain his degree but his heart and mind never left. Till this day Paul Farmer keeps his home in Haiti, refusing to give sub-par care to anyone who comes knocking at his door while other doctors keep telling him that it is not “economic” to be giving first class care and medicine to people in poor countries who need it the most.

A heartwarming story of struggle against the odds and the preservation of a single man who would give everything up for the sake of others in need. -Dominic Chu

This book also gives the reader an appreciation for the work of Partners in Health, the organization that Dr. Farmer and others started to fund and deliver healthcare not only to Haiti but around the globe.

I recommend this book, this author, and PIH.

The title comes from a Haitian proverb, which is usually translated as: “Beyond the mountains, more mountains.” per an interview of Kidder.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks Spotlight on Haiti

  1. PIH was actually the charity I decided to donate to when the news broke out (though others are also doing very valuable work, of course!). They sound amazing and I definitely need to get my hands on this book. I’ve just started an Edwidge Danticat novel set in Haiti and I know it’ll make me cry my eyes out 😦

  2. I had to read this book in law school and I thought it was amazing. I’ve been trying to encourage people to donate to PIH when they ask where they should give to Haiti.

  3. I’ve been hearing great things about PIH. It’s nice to know there’s a good book out there about one of its founders, I’ll be sure to let people know.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

