What’s In a Name 3 – 2010

What’s In a Name 3 – the challenge is to read 6 books with titles in a certain category.
FOOD:   Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie / Alan Bradley
Body of WATER:   The Sea / John Banville
Royal TITLE:     The Princess Bride / Wm Goldman (in house!)
PLANT:   Where the Red Fern Grows / Wilson Rawls (in house!)
PLACE:    North Dallas Forty / Peter Gent (in house!)
MUSIC Term:   The Bell Jar / Sylvia Plath

Now, the fun of this challenge to me is in the recommending.    I will now go through my recently-done-read-list to see if I can recommend and encourage you to read the following if you need help in deciding one of the categories.

FOOD:     The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society / Shaffer & Barrows, Chocolat / Joanne Harris

Body of Water:   On Mystic Lake / Kristin Hannah, Green Grass Running Water / Thomas King

Royal TITLE:   The Little Prince / Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

PLANT:  The Orchid Thief / Susan Orlean, Green Grass Running Water / Thomas King

PLACE:   Anne of Green Gables / LDMontgomery,  Firefly Lane / Kristin Hannah, Popular Music from Vittula / Mikael Niemi, The Last Beach Bungalow / Jennie Nash, Last Night in Montreal / Emily St John Mandel, 84 Charing Cross Road / Helene Hanff

MUSIC Term:  Popular Music from Vittula / Mikael Niemi, The Soloist / Mark Salzman

13 thoughts on “What’s In a Name 3 – 2010

  1. I read The Princess Bride in high school and loved it. It was funny and delightful, and I really believed there was a book by S. Morgenstern out there somewhere, and I hunted all over for it! LOL. I read Where the Red Fern Grows for the first time with my oldest daughter a couple years ago, and found it very touching. Make sure to have the Kleenexes handy for the last few chapters.

    Happy Reading 🙂

    1. You would have laughed when I was looking at my stocks of books looking for ones to fit each category. I whooped loudly with joy when I saw The Princess Bride and was actually happy that I hadn’t gotten to it in 09 so I can read it for this challenge. I’m becoming challenge obsessed and must get to reading!!!
      Thx for not telling me what Red Fern is about – I don’t want to know!

  2. I’m with you on those food book recommendations! I tried to make my list entirely from my tbr piles. My goal is to try to knock my stacks way down by year end.

    1. It’s fun having my own library to pick for these challenges – I used to not have that many books… and in goodreads, I have been compiling a tbr list of books abt pie or with pie in the tile. and lobsters, too.

  3. I’m doing this challenge as well and was surprised with how many options I had from my own personal TBR pile. I look forward to doing this one with you!

  4. I agree that recommendations are a great part of this challenge. I asked my readers what to read for it back in December, and they came up with 35 crime novels! I almost wish I had to read more than six 😀

  5. Pingback: Challenge 2010 Wrap Up « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

