The Wednesday Sisters

Thoughts  twsbmwc The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton, Ballantine Books 2008, 284 pages.

MOTIVATION for READING: This is the official selection for November’s In-Real-Life Book Club aka The Bookies.     We are also to read The Help (which I liked better.)    I had this book on my tbr wishlist since I read Trish’s review at Hey Lady! She gave it a 99/100 rating.

Where there is great love,
there are always miracles.

– Willa Cather, Death Comes for the Archbishop

WHAT IT’s ABOUT: Four young ladies meet at the park in the neighborhood, begin a friendship and start a writing club.     Despite being from varied backgrounds, their loves and lives and writing careers are intertwined for many years with a strong enduring friendship.

WHAT’s GOOD: I thought it was fun to read about these very different women and all they went through.    I loved all the cultural references from the 70’s and seeing how much times have changed.   I enjoyed living vicariously through the struggling writer life.

WHAT’s NOT so GOOD: I know that a few of my Bookie friends did not much care for this and have complained about changes in viewpoint and style?   voice?     I look forward to hearing more of these issues at the club meeting in a few weeks.        This book was fine, I enjoyed it but I doubt it will turn into one of those memorable-over-time books for me.     Also, though I’m hesitant to bring it up, I don’t have any friendships like the ones described in this book.    Probably since I’ve moved so often in my life…

I tried to find some dissenting not-quite-so positive reviews in blogosphere but it seems like everyone just loved it dearly.       I do think this is a safe book to recommend to my friends if they ever ask for a recommendation.    (At least the ones that don’t teach English in High School.   ha!   kind of a private joke.   You know who you are.)

FINAL THOUGHTS: I liked it just fine.   I’m giving it four pie slices.   But I think I might have to just give it three – which does NOT mean it sucked!   Two pie slices means ‘only OK’, so three pies mean “I liked it.”    It’s just that it’s already been a few weeks since I read this and I’m not remembering much.   I didn’t take any notes on it, and so yes:  THREE PIE SLICES, it is.

pieratingsml pieratingsml pieratingsml

10 thoughts on “The Wednesday Sisters

  1. *snort* I know who I am! LOL

    I cannot wait for our discussion next week. I think this will be a very spirited discussion as TWS allows for a critique of writing style and TH will spark a “is it a ‘classic'” debate. YAY!!!

    Just read your October recap. Could I borrow the Jennie Nash? You’ve got me hooked on her now.

  2. I enjoyed reading this book while I was reading it – i.e., I found it very absorbing – but in the end I thought the same as you. Enjoyable, but not spectacular.

  3. This one’s been in my TBR pile for a while and I’m anxious to read it since it does seem everyone loves it. I’ve moved around a lot too, so I wonder if I’ll relate to the friendships.

    1. I really enjoyed following the writing struggles and the support they gave each other. I have some great friendships but not many in the ‘support my dreams’ area of life. maybe I just needs some new dreams?

  4. I think I might enjoy this book. I have an amazing circle of girl friends and although we all live so far apart we still manage to share everything. It’s a blessing, really 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Girl Who Stopped Swimming « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

