New Books in the House! New Books in the House! (and where I continue to procrastinate on reviews…)

So – did I get a DOOZY of a wonderful book present gift last week!

I’ll back up.

You need to know the story.   NO.   Maybe I only need to share the story.  Whatever, here we go.

SOMETIMES when I review (actually it should be ‘give thoughts on’) a book, when a commenter shares that they would LOVE to get the book  and the book in discussion is in my possession, I offer to send said book.

It happened with Oliver Sacks book The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat.   Nymeth wanted it.   I sent it.   To Portugal.   Not a big deal to me, but she made a big deal of it.       OH!!!   see the postnote!!!!

SO.

She sent me a sweet thoughtful considerate thank you package!!!

and.

IT

WAS

IS

AWESOME!

She sent me books.    A book by a beloved Portuguese writer and one that apparently traveled from New Orleans across the pond and now back to me via Chris.  THANKS!!

edqtm rbthtI suppose I should read The Halloween Tree for Rip IV since it’s still October but…   well.  maybe.   I’m actually a bit more anxious to try The Mandarin first.      TOO MANY BOOKS!!!

However, the “piece-of-the-can’t-resist”  (I don’t speak French – do you know what I’m trying to say here?)  is this adorable creature:

IMG_1637

If you are new to my blog, then you must reach back to my archives in a past Weekly Geek post where I yap about my lobster mania…

Which brings me to other new books in the house:

From bookmooch:   The Giver (already read and to be reviewed soon) by Lois Lowry,  Jamaica Inn by Daphne DuMaurier.

and from the library:

Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones (already read AND reviewed)

The Vintner’s Luck by Elizabeth Knox (also read and reviewed)

(both of the above for the New Zealand Book Challenge!  I’m not overdosing; don’t worry!)

and Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden (blame Softdrink in a comment somewhere – I think to a post on an Alexie Sherman review….)

I think that’s all.

I got Whale Rider from bookmooch, too and YES!  I KNOW!!   goodreads shows it as a currently-reading but I haven’t started.    I’m reading the Boyden book since it’s a library book.   I’ve already had to renew it, SHHhhshsssssh.

*  POSTNOTE
so I absolutely love Nymeth – isn’t this internet thing just the coolest?    Did you see her vlog?    so darling.   I love having an image and a voice to go with the thoughts in my head for what you are.    🙂

I thought I had an additional postpostnote but I’ve forgotten it!   woe is me.

oh!   I remember:    I have review/thoughts to post on:

Lolita (scratch)

The Wednesday Sisters

The Giver

Juckets

???

34 thoughts on “New Books in the House! New Books in the House! (and where I continue to procrastinate on reviews…)

  1. Awwww…that is so Ana! Sweet as sweet can be. 😀 But I’m going to add to that, that Ms Care is mighty sweet, too…after all, did she not send Ms Ana a book just because, too. Yes, yes, yes…two extremely sweet and lovely ladies!

    And read The Halloween Tree soon…it is soooooo good. And a really quick read, too.

  2. I’m still touched by your kind gesture for sending me that Ray Bradbury’s book, Care!!! You and Ana are two of the sweetest ladies I know in blogland, and I’m so glad to call you both my friends! 🙂

  3. Oh, the both of you are incredibly sweet 😀 I was super excited when she told me she was going to send The Halloween Tree to you!! I sent it to her because there’s no Halloween in Portugal 😦 Not realizing that she had already read it, lol. So she said she would send it to you and I got so happy 😀 And what a cute freaking lobster!! Isn’t Ana the best???

    1. historyofshe

      Good karma brings good karma and IT ROCKS! Awesome lobster– have you ever heard of the story of what the Arcadians think happened to the lobster when they moved down to Louisiana?

  4. Let us now downplay the SHEER AWESOMENESS of the original package I got from Care 😀 I’m reading the Sacks book right now, btw! And oh, I love him ❤

    Thank you for putting a smile on my face first thing in the morning!

    1. I was tipped off to expect it from a Twitter msg I eavesdropped on – but I was terribly excited! I need to take the lobster out on the town and show it America. OOoo – I have an idea for my Literary Road Trip post…

    1. Hi Lisa! I was just over at your blog, came back here and see your msg! I love it when that happens. The lobster IS cute, isn’t he. And I got 3 books today in the mail. One being the LaZebnik book I won from you! yippee!

  5. I’ll be interested to see your review on Wednesday Sisters. It was just “meh” for me. I’m hoping to finishing The Year of Fog by the weekend so I can start on The Bookies Part Two (aka The Help) this weekend. Hitting up the Make and Take Kitchen Saturday morning for some good fall, freezer food! Yay!

    Incidentally, in Care-withdrawal and cannot wait until November. Can we fix that ASAP?

  6. Pingback: My Take on Boston Book Fest « Care's Online Book Club

  7. Pingback: Multi Book Thoughts to Cross Off List « Care's Online Book Club

  8. Pingback: New York Ditty « Care's Online Book Club

  9. Pingback: Copley’s Connections « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

