Weekly Geeks 2009-38

It’s Weekly Geeks Time!   The theme this week is to consider how your blog appears to a first time visitor.   Please visit the official website to get the full scoop by clicking on this sentence.

Hi  New-Person-To-My-Blog.   Welcome.

How are ya?

My name is Care and it’s a nickname; short for my real name.   I like to use ‘CARE’ because when I write letters, I love to sign them

loveCare

The four letter name is shorter and thus QUICKER to write.   To be honest, few people verbally call me this, but I don’t mind when they do.

I like to read books.

I used to have a [just-‘life’] blog – wait!  I still do!  I just don’t yap there very often anymore…    I just got to be a bit obsessed with books and …

Sometimes, though, you might wonder that I only like to post about books, blog about books, waste time on the interwebs twitting about books, talk excessively about books (especially to people I just meet, like at parties and such), etc – – but actually spend little time READING books!    At least it feels like that some days.

To read about the Who and What of “Care’s Online Book Club”, just click on that tab above that says WHO? WHAT?

And if you want to see what kind of books I’ve read, just click on the tab above that says BOOKS I’VE READ.     <=== or click on that. I list them by date – last read is listed first.    Also, if you visit that tab, you can find out about my love for PIE and how I rate the books I read.

I think I read a variety of genres.  I know I’ve read a ton of different stuff now that I’m blogging and getting recommendations of books I doubt I would have ever heard of before.

I don’t do ARCs.    Which stands for Advanced Reader Copy, by the way.    These are books that publishers often send to bloggers for pumping up enthusiasm before the book hits the stands (available for purchase.)    I don’t have enough confidence to write reviews when somebody is eagerly anticipating it – too much pressure.   I don’t think critically and hate to do negatives.

Which is why I don’t do book tours, too.    I don’t like the over saturation feel of seeing them everywhere and trying to think of something new and different to say.       I rarely talk to authors.  I enjoy reading all those interviews but I shy away from interviews.

Which, I suppose is odd.   I do like to talk to people and wouldn’t call myself shy.   oh well.

If you want to add me to your Google Reader and visit me often, that would be nice!     I have no idea how to add an RSS feed button.   I have never ever gotten the concept nor has it worked out for me when I’ve clicked on anyone elses.   I do the copy/paste method to add to my Reader.    But if you all think I should do so, I’ll go figure it out.    I also don’t understand the meta tag thing and suppose I should go try and read that explanation again but that lazy apathy is getting in the way.

I really don’t care about stats.    I only care when I get crickets.    Sure, I get a little sad and worried that I’m not clever enough or exciting enough – especially when I visit a blog and they don’t come back here to say hello.   Then I get over myself and keep on keeping on. and then my favorite people always seem to stop by and I keep finding new people to add to my favorites and if I get any more I’ll explode!   so, really, no biggie to me if I don’t see more visitors here.    No offense!     I didn’t respond to that BBAW* goals meme because I have no goals except to continue.      I have no ambitions to change it up, improve – impress, go get all self-hosted and whatnot  – I don’t want any technical headaches at all:  NOT INTERESTED.   I am happy to be on the fringes of the book blogging party and be a wall-flower over here, spiking the punch.   No desire to be on stage.

So, if you are here and want to say hello, join in!    I’d love to meet you!   But I don’t see you as a number.    I see you as a person.    Welcome.   Tell me your favorite book!    Have you read The Help yet?     What about The Book Thief?   Not your kind of book?   What’s your favorite genre?!

loveCare

*BBAW is Book Blogger Appreciation Week, by the way.   It was a few weeks ago.   Amy did a fabulous job.     She’s in my BLOGROLL to the left as Amy – My Friend Amy in the ‘Other’ section.    Yea, I agree – I have a ton of blogs ‘rolled’, don’t I?   and the why I group them like that is determined by how I have to be signed in to leave a comment.      OK, here’s a goal:    improve my blogroll.   A few of them have gone self-hosted and the links are likely invalid.    Another good goal might be to list books I’ve read by __   ….   nah, too much work.     You can always search a book title – the search box is in the upper right corner under the header banner.

Oct209

And I love dogs;   this is Oscar on the dock looking east at Greenwich Bay Rhode Island.   I was reading Lolita by Nabokov.

48 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks 2009-38

    1. Jealous?! huh. You are sweet. You’re going to be an excellent Cheer Captain, btw and I will be glad to be on the squad for the Read-A-Thon. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Chris. I appreciate it. 🙂 Sometimes, I really wonder about myself: I really can’t answer the WHY do I even bother to blog? question sometimes.

    1. Hi Gautami – I guess what I don’t get is WHAT are they and WHY do I need them? But if/when I want to know, I’m coming to YOU for tech assistance! 🙂

    1. Well, HELLO! Welcome. Welcome here and welcome to blogging about books! Watch your email – I’m sending you a link to show you how to update your WP profile so that when you leave a comment, others can link directly back to your blog. AND I’ve added you to my blogroll! woo hoo. Nice to meet you. 🙂

  1. What a wonderful post! This is my first visit. I came by because you dropped by my blog! I’m going to add you to my daily reads. I’ve read neither The Help nor The Book Thief though I’d like to read both of them, someday. Nice to meet you!

    1. Nice to meet you, Nicola! Golly, if you add me to your DAILY reads, does that mean I have to post every day?!?! ha. I actually do post pretty often and have quite a few terrific blog post ideas in the works. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. It is interesting to see how different people have dealt with this topic Care.I think the meta tags thing refers to whether you use labels or categories for your posts, so thta people can find like posts in your blog. For example when you review a book you might use the label book review, or romance or similar. The tags then appear at the bottom of your post and enable the search of your blog for similar blog posts.

    1. ah, categories and tags on posts? OK. Check, I do that. Guess I don’t have to be any more technical than I’m already doing. Thanks for the help here!

  3. I do take review books from authors, publishers and publicists but they are rarely ARCs. I don’t do book tours though because I can’t commit to a specific date. Plus the tours don’t seem as genuine as reviews written as people get the books read. My Weekly Geeks post is here.

    1. I have accepted a few (like two, I think) and one was just so awful, that I’m scarred for life now. I really have more books than I may ever read so I would I accept any more? But I can always change my mind. I will be by to see you post soon. Thanks for visiting me!

    1. I’m not going anywhere. And really, I almost deleted this post – I really didn’t address the “Why I blog about books” question you might think someone new here would ask me. By the way, I want to subscribe/steal/borrow/plagiarize your (Not Really A) Review Policy. I agree wholeheartedly!

  4. Hey Care!
    Have not read “The Help”
    Did read “The Book Thief”….LOVED it. 🙂
    Huge dog lover here too, but I think I’m a bad dog
    mom cuz I don’t think their pics are anywhere on my blog yet!!!
    And lastly, wanted to come say Hi and say thanks for visiting my blog. Were you surprised??? 🙂

    You’ve inspired me to go work on my “Hello” for my blog. I think it’s horribly out of date!! 🙂

    1. WOW! Yes! so glad to have you visit me! and wow – you let Jill send off The Help before you read it? I thought you two were bookswappers? I look forward to seeing photos of your puppy. 🙂

  5. That’s an amazing intro post. I’m quite embarrassed by mine now – it’s so….. practical!

    I love the blog, and it’s my first time on it. 🙂

    I haven’t read The Help, but it’s on the list. I read The Book Thief last year, and absolutely loved it.

    1. Thanks, but don’t be embarrassed! Why would you be embarrassed? I actually almost deleted this post because it still assumes any newperson here knows SOMETHING about book blogging – I wonder if a true newby would ‘get’ it. but whatever.
      oh – I adored The Book Thief. soft treasures spot in heart for that one and I am considering re-reading it. and I don’t re-read books.

  6. “I really don’t care about stats…” This whole paragraph had me cheering! Yeah, out loud. Don’t believe me, ask my daughter…she wanted to know what I was yelling about. 😉
    Anyway, it had me cheering because it just exactly described me, too! And sometimes I start feeling like I don’t belong in this big old blogging world anymore because of it. But that’s just a stupid attitude, isn’t it? My favorite blogs are the ones where I feel I know the person behind it, and that that person is just being her/himself and not trying to impress anyone. Yeah, that would be why your blog is one of my favorites! 😀 Because Care is sooooo awesome!!!!!

    1. Both of us need a talking-to: we are exhibiting slight yet worrisome symptoms of inferior-blog-complex-tendencies. or is that redundant? I’ll CHEER for you if you CHEER for me! out loud even!! Thanks, Debi. I really believe that there are energy connections in blogosphere and some are a bit highly charged than others. I’ll stop but I could go on and on about my crazy theories.

      1. Inferior-blog-complex-tendencies…not a joking matter, I know. But Care, I do think we can see each other through and come out healthy, not to mention happy, little bloggers in the end. 😀

  7. This is a great idea to consider how your blog comes across to new readers like this, especially after having your blog for some time. I definitely need to take a “new” look at mine as well and make a few changes. Oh, and I love the name Care for you because it definitely fits you. 🙂

    1. Yea! We can start an rebel anti-techni-blog club!? no, I’m kidding. If meta tags are just categories and tags to attach to posts so they show up in searches, fine. I get that. anyway. I’m not touching that RSS issue. I figure it someone is upset I don’t have that RSS thing when they come here then they should thank me for helping cull their must-read-blog-list! ha!! I don’t mean to sound so harsh. I should stop reading “HOW TO IMPROVE your stats” posts since… oh y’all know.

  8. What a wonderful way to do the Weekly Geek idea this week. I’m not sure how to approach it and now I want to copy you! 🙂

    I didn’t understand a thing about the meta tag thing either.

    I hope to read The Help soon and I love The Book Thief more than words can say.

    1. hello Suey, feel free to borrow this approach. I look forward to your post. 🙂 These 2 books are on my tops for the year so far. I’ve read some great stuff this year.

  9. Hello Care, nice to meet you! On your ‘Books I’ve Read’ page (thanks for the link 😉 I saw that you’re currently reading Lolita. I have an unabridged audio copy of that, read by… Jeremy Irons! I absolutely LOVE his voice. I thought the movie was great as well.

    You read a lot of books a month btw! There are many on your list that I haven’t read yet. But… I am looking forward to reading The Housekeeper and the Professor with the new online Japanese reading group at In Spring It Is The Dawn. I am going to have a look at your review now, see if there are no spoilers 😉

  10. Wonderful post, Care. Warm and welcoming. You are in no way on the fringes, you are a great ambassador for inclusivity in the book blogging community!

    Did I already mention I love The Book Thief? It comes up nearly everywhere I go!

  11. What a fun blog! I’m having a great time looking through your list of books. I started The Book Thief but had to return it to the library before getting very far. I can’t ever name a favorite book, but I do love B. Kingsolver’s “Animal Vegetable Miracle” and to me, Ex Libris by Anne Fadiman was a great book-lover’s book. And for pure fun Sarah Dessen’s “Just Listen” reminds me of teenage love.

  12. Ahhhhh I just love you! Your voice shines through in all your posts. Someone could line up 100 blog posts by 100 different bloggers and I would be able to pick yours out of the lineup quite easily! I guess that is my wordy way of saying you’re uniquely you. I love your sign-off and wish I knew how to do that!! I am very tehcno-challenged as well and don’t really get the RSS stuff- which is why I haven’t gone the self hosted route either. I’ve got WordPress all figured out.. why change??

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

