Mailbox Monday 09/28/09

I was blessed to receive a bunch of books last week!    Mailbox Monday is a meme hosted by Marcia at the Printed Page blog,

The prior week, I was feeling generous; I added a few books to my bookmooch.com inventory and responded ‘sure, why not?’ to everyone who asked if I would send to their country.    For just under $100, I sent books to Bulgaria, South Korea, United Kingdom, Belgium, Canada, a US military base, as well as state-side to Pennsylvania, Montana, Wisconsin, and Ohio.

bmcards234

Which meant that I had a ton of points to MOOCH with!   Along with winning a contest from Chris over at Stuff As Dreams Are Made On…   Thanks Chris!!

Here’s what I got:

IMG_1590

Lois Lowry’s The Giver

William Goldman’s The Princess Bride – blame to Raych

Tracy Chevalier:  The Virgin Blue (for the Dewey Challenge)

Shooting the Boh by Tracy Johnston (blame Eva)

undiscovered gyrl / Allison Burnett – from Chris

The Bright Forever by Lee Martin (Caribou’s Mom?)

I am Madame X by Gioia Diliberto (no blame; I liked the cover)

And last but never least, I have to shout to the rooftops my appreciation for a blogger that I consider a super dooper friend.     I had seen a lovely contest over at Christina’s Stacked Blog and sent out an email to friends to hurry and enter.  Teeni did just that and WON!

But that’s not the end of the story.   She gave the prize to me!   SURPRISE!   So sweet.  This is what she sent me:

IMG_1592

Shelly Kommer’s Bookplates – Visit her ETSY shop here.

23 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 09/28/09

  1. I am soooo glad that the giveaway took on a new life of it’s own. After I let her know she won, Teeni emailed me saying that she had entered with a friend in mind – who had entered herself. She asked if she could request the same design the friend liked so the bookplates could be a gift. Based on the details, I was able to pin-point you as the friend and it was really difficult to not share Teeni’s generousity when I announced her as the winner on the site and when you congratulated her in the comments!

    I’m very happy that you like them – they really are gorgeous designs and it was wonderful being able to share them with more everyone.

    1. Fun, huh? to be involved with a little happy-conspiracy? Teeni is a sweetheart. I can’t wait to go get the correct gluestick so I can paste them into my special books.

  2. Those bookplates are so pretty! I am addicted to bookplates – it makes me laugh when I am sorting through old books, to see what I’ve written on bookplates from different times in my life.

  3. Wow, a stack of books. How awesome. The Giver is on my ‘To buy one day” list 🙂

    Those bookplates are so pretty. But you know I don’t really know what book plates are for. I have never seen a book plate in person 🙂

    1. In this case, and I think typically, bookplates are glued onto the very first page as a way to identify the book’s owner. I bought acidfree archival-quality glue last night so I get to put my new bookplates in my books – very exciting! So if I ever loan these out, the guest reader will know these books must be returned to me.

  4. reviewsbylola

    I love The Giver! The Bright Forever is pretty good and although I haven’t read The Virgin Blue, I hope to soon because I am a big fan of Tracy Chevalier.

  5. Well, you ARE a winner! 🙂 Glad you like them and so sorry I’m so late getting here to see all your other winnings too! Oooh – I liked, “The Giver!”

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

