Weekly Geeks 2009-35 THE PLAN

So this week’s Geek wants to know The Plan.

wg12

My plan?   My plan…   Well, in my last post, I laid some grand plans to NOT read any more contemporary women’s fiction for the rest of the year – which hurts me to say, actually, because I don’t want to deny or suggest that I think I won’t miss out on some really great books.    (Maybe a better grand plan is to work on my skills at constructing a proper sentence.  That one didn’t sound too good but I’m also too lazy to worry about fixing it.   Thus the need for getting started on some sort of plan?)

In my immediate future, I have plans to print out and really study the short list nominees for BBAW and vote – TODAY!   Deadline is TODAY!!!!

BBAW_Celebrate_Books

And after that (still working on today), besides attending to my mounting laundry needs, is to finish up reviews of The Father of All Things by Tom Bissell, Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. (Did you notice that?!   I’m done with RIP IV Challenge!!!!!!!!)

Later/soon, I intend to verify my completion of a Minor in The World Citizen Challenge –  I’m not sure but I think I read three books to finish that up and I would like to do a status update for all my challenges.

booklist09

Softdrink wants me to read Lolita with her…

I’m thinking that I should pick up Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close now that i’s September, and…

I must announce that I’m giving up on my goal to read 100 books this year.   The pressure to do so will distract me from the pleasure of reading whatever book-in-hand I’m trying to enjoy.   so, RASPBERRY to that and we’ll see if I best last year’s goal of 75.

So…   That’s the plan!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks 2009-35 THE PLAN

  1. Good plan! I have no plan. At all.
    I read Lolita last year and alternated between loving the language and wanting to bleach my brain because of the content.
    Happy Weekly Geeks!

  2. reviewsbylola

    I don’t blame you for rethinking your goal of 100 books this year and just waiting to see how many you end up reading. I’ve found that when I set goals like that for myself, reading can end up becoming a chore.

  3. Congrats on finishing a challenge. Kudos for being willing to give up that 100 book goal. It really does put the kibosh on enjoying reading when you are just pushing to get thru books.

  4. great plans. I did the bloggiesta over the summer and got my blog organized. Now, I think it is time to go through things and make sure everything is still good. I think I am going to choose not to read anymore Romance or fantasy novels. I am just so tired of them.

    You can feel free to use my Massachusetts Road Trip button. I did make it from pictures I found on the internet. Here is the address for it and the password is BloodyBad

  5. Sounds like a good plan to me. I don’t count the number of books I read too unless it’s for a half yearly review or a yearly review. It creates unnecessary pressure.

    And you have an Excel sheet for your challenges, wow, impressive 🙂

  6. Hello,

    I’m with Quirk Books. I came across your blog and saw that you plan on reviewing Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I hope you’re enjoyed it! I was wondering if you would like to be put on a mailing list to receive future news about the Quirk Classic series. In just a few weeks, we’ll be announcing the next title.
    If not, that’s okay. We won’t bug you again.

    If you have any questions feel free to contact the publicity manager, Melissa Monachello, melissa_m@QuirkBooks.com.

    Thank you for reading!

    Best,

    Jennifer Pacheco

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

