Why Not Let It R.I.P.

I’ve caved.   “NO MORE CHALLENGES CARE!”    Oh well.    It’s the badge I covet most, I think.

rip4banner200

I am always blown away by the enthusiasm for this challenge:   R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril…  IV! And even-though I’m challenge-challenged, I’m succumbing anyway.      Actually, I had assumed from everyone who has so excitedly posted their pools of reading choices that the Peril the First level of FOUR books was the lesser of the levels, but actually it’s the HIGHEST!

When curiosity got the best of me, I finally (and I suggest you go ahead and click here, too. You know you want to) clicked to the official challenge site at Carl’s Stainless Steel Droppings and found out that I could post my pool as my entry commitment.

I’m choosing the Peril the Second of TWO books:

rip4second

Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes* swtwc

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies** by Seth Grahame-Smith  papaz

Luckily, I have both of these books in house.    But, in the spirit of choice and pool-posting, I offer the following books that may or may not be appropriate but I’ve seen them on other’s pool lists so I, too, will offer them up for consideration.    All of these are also in house:

Mary Reilly by Valerie Martin

The Likeness by Tana French

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

But wait!  There’s more!!  I also want to put something/anything by HP Lovecraft on the list because it’s been awhile since I read a book for my Chartroose Challenge and am hoping that if she see’s that I’ve mentioned her, I can entice her out of her quasi-retirement or where-ever-the-hell-she-is to post something!!!   (please Char?  we miss you!)

stalkch

*    Something Wicked… was a DNF from last year that I really loved but somehow put down and it done got runned over.

** and P&P&Z counts for my Everything Austen Challenge – yippee!

24 thoughts on “Why Not Let It R.I.P.

  1. The button makes it impossible to say no, doesn’t it? Me likey your list. I should re-read Something Wicked This Way Comes, as it’s been a few years. Of course, I have all those unread books to focus on first…

  2. Let it RIP indeed!!! I am so glad that you broke your no more challenges rule to come along with us. We do have a lot of fun, the books are generally wonderful seasonal reads, and I like to keep it all as laid back as possible so there is no commitment phobia and no burdensome obligation.

    Thanks so much for joining in with us! 🙂

  3. historyofshe

    Oh! I’m excited to see that The Historian is on your list! I really liked it when I read it and got truthfully scared at one particular spot that I can remember anyways. There were probably more…

    What an awesome challenge to cave in to!


  4. @Nymeth – the button is awesome. So tender, yet so ominous! I was SOOOOoo excited and inspired when I looked at my inhouse tbr what might work, that I just HAD to sign up!

    @Carl V. – Carl the FIFTH. Your name is almost peril-inspiring… I appreciate and have heard it often, that you are an awesome challenge-host. I’m overusing the word awesome, aren’t I?

    @historyofshe – yea??? I’m getting so opposite-fdbk about that book. I’m shying due to page count. but it has vampires! 🙂 but – yea – it has vampires… 😦 If you want me to send you a link to a post elsewhere that was NOT enthusiastic, let me know…

  5. I broke my no more challenges rule for this, too, although I’ve refused to make a list. At the moment I have vague plans to re-read The Stand by Stephen King and go: finished!
    Oooh … Oryx and Crake. I want to re-read that before The Year of the Flood comes out. Hrm….

  6. Love your pool! Loved that Bradbury and pretty much enjoyed The Historian and Oryx and Crake on different levels of creepiness.

    I wish I have Pride and Prejudice and Zombies too! Can’t wait to get that call from my bookstore that my copy is already here 🙂

    The buttons are indeed lovely, lovely.

  7. Oh, I’ve been dying to read both the Bradbury and some Lovecraft stories! But I promised myself I wouldn’t buy books for this, I have so many in the house I haven’t read…methinks it’s off to the Central Library – that’s not BUYING books, right? 🙂

  8. Great choices Care! I loved Something Wicked…And I have PPZ on my list too. Looks like a lot of fun 🙂 Glad to see you participating!! And I hope Chartroose gets back to posting too 😦

  9. The button really does rock, doesn’t it?? I read Something Wicked This Way Comes last year for the challenge. It really was a fantastic book. This is my favorite challenge of the year!! I can’t wait to read all your reviews!

  10. Yeah, with everybody on my blogroll signing up for this challenge, I am struggling to resist. Plus they all have such amazing lists of books – I am not supposed to get any more books out of the library but some of these RIP books are calling my name…

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

