Weekly Geeks 2009-32 Why Haven’t I Read This Yet?

Please click here to go directly to the Weekly Geek blog.

wgicon

This week’s Geek asks us to list those books we’ve always meant to read and just have not yet ever gotten around to.   (perhaps, this sounds better:  just not yet have gotten to –or–  just never read yet,  –or– whatever.)

I have a huge list of books I’ve always said I would read someday and it includes Anna Karenina, Moby Dick, and even Harry Potter.

IMG_1445

But this book, I swear, I’ve been lugging around with me since college and I still have only read a few of the poems.    No, can’t be college – the copyright date is the year after I graduated.    I don’t remember when or why I bought this and  I cannot tell you any good reason why I’ve not opened and read it yet:

The Erotic Works of D.H.Lawrence

tewodhl


On the other hand (and with nothing to do with DH Lawrence), I do want to say I’ve recently read a few titles after many years of wishing to:    A Prayer for Owen Meany, The Color Purple and The Pillars of the Earth.   Yea me!

12 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks 2009-32 Why Haven’t I Read This Yet?

  1. C’mon–you know you totally got this because it said erotic in the title!

    I have been meaning for years to read Anna Karenina and just today I requested it on CD from the library. I figure that is the only way I’m ever going to get to it. Maybe I’ll do Bleak House the same way!

  2. Anna Karenina is something I have been wanting to read too but I just don’t have the motivation. Even the Harry Potter books but having seen the movies, the motivation is even less.

  3. @Nat, it’s OK! I feel bad that you are trying SO HARD to like it! We lovers of books must be kind and gentle with each other so give it up if you just can’t do it. It’s OK! Besides, this will allow me to forgive myself for not finishing Pillars of the Earth.

    @Violet – I think it’s hard to read books when you already know the story – I think I’m just too impatient? and then, there’s Harry Potter. I swear it’s the long book issue. It takes serious motivation.

    @Jodie – Mind blowingly confusing, huh? oh boy. Someday – really, someday will arrive and I will AT LEAST get through Lady Chatterley’s Lover.

    @KB – I sent you and email that said NO, didn’t really finish TPOTE and read the Nash books in order of publishing dates. Okiedokie? 🙂

  4. And now I’m sitting here thinking, why haven’t *I* read it yet? I love Lawrence. I should probably focus on the two unread books of his I have on my stacks, though 😛

  5. Well, I have not even got around to answering the question yet. I know I have several classics I should read & want to read, but my crime fiction tends to get in the way. I have just ordered four classics for my 19-year-old daughter who wanted to move on from children´s literature in English so perhaps …

  6. I’m a strong believer that even if we “want” to read a book, we must wait for it to want us to read it.

    Maybe this book was just waiting for the right moment for you.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

