Lovely Quotes

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage” ~Lao Tzu

– just saw this on Twitter, retweeted by Boston Bibliophile.   It’s a good one, yes?

Which reminds me, I don’t have time to sit here and twit away my morning!   I can’t decide if I should leave to drop off the dog to daycare right now and then come back, work out and get ready to meet my friend Beastmomma.    OR work out and just drop off the dog on my way to IKEA.   So, I sit here checking blogs and hitting refresh on the Twitter Home page and it is seriously frightening me.

Good news:   I’ve been ‘hired’ (purely volunteer basis = no pay was discussed) to help a teacher research gender issues in education.    Anyone read anything on this topic recently? I’m sure she’s just wondering if I can dig up some books she hasn’t yet found.   It’s all fun.   I believe I remember Dewey reading and discussing some great books so I will check there first thing later today.    (ha – that sounds funny.)

All the beautiful sentiments in the world weigh less than a single lovely action. – James Russell Lowell

And now, I feel I must address this quandry of my BBAW nomination.    I have been nominated for Best Commentor (or is it Commenter?)     Does this mean I leave the best comments or I’m just prolific?   Whatever, it is humbling and exciting to be nominated and I know the others who are also nominated are incredibly worthy and deserving.   It’s just weird now thinking/wondering if  I’m commenting just to comment and get the counts up and at so many blogs!!! or just continue to do as I do.   Know what I mean?      So, I will just continue being me and enjoy the blogs like I always do.     I will not campaign or try to buzz around everywhere but will attempt to visit and make new friends, cherish the ‘old’ friends and — ok, I’ll just shut up now.

8 thoughts on “Lovely Quotes

  1. Ohhh..congrats on the nomination. Your comments don’t look like you left them just for the sake of commenting.
    Congrats on the job, any job where you have to look up for books is great.

  2. Congrats on your award! I never think your comments were there just for the sake of commenting, I always enjoy them. So just keep being you 🙂

  3. I’m not sure exactly what the designation means either (And I also wondered about the spelling. It looks weird either way.), but it’s still cool! 🙂 Congratulations!

    Lezlie

  4. Congrats on the nomination! I love getting your comments, so I think it’s well deserved. 🙂 For the research question….I did a lot of research on this when I was getting my Master’s, but I can’t think of anyone off the top of my head. I do remember that there is no definitive conclusion – some studies show that students perform better when they’re separated by gender, while others studies prove the opposite. Plus, the studies that I read failed to account for students who identify as transgendered, which I’ve already seen can be a real issue in schools. Good luck! You might try EducationWeek.com – they have really great articles, and I’m pretty sure I found some good info there.

  5. Congrats on your award! I think it’s a combination of both. You leave plenty of comments that are insightful. At least, that’s what I think. I’m not exactly sure. Those are really good quotes!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

