Oh, Just Lots of Stuff

My IRL Book Club — newly named as The Bookies  — met yesterday afternoon to discuss The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn.    We enjoyed refreshing pina coladas and blackberry beer and swimming in the pool on a hot humid day talking about books we’ve been reading, hope to read, hated to read, etc.     We are all praying that the sun and heat will also be present for our next meeting so that we can, once again, enjoy Books and Beer and Pool.

We have no formal book selection format;   we just assign who will be the next person to suggest a book and either allow them to dictate the next book or to bring a few titles to vote.    For September, we’ll be reading

My Sweet Charlie by David Westheimer

This book is from 1965 and has been made into a play and a movie, but unfortunately Netflix doesn’t have it.      Anyone heard of it?     I’m just excited to see that one copy is available in the library system and BY GOLLY!!  that library is my town’s!   Awesome.   (and if any of my Bookie friends want it after me, just let me know and I’ll pass it on.)

In other news, I was so excited to see I’ve been awarded this:

zombiechicken

The Zombie Chicken Award!   (click here to get the details) I tell you what – this really does mean a lot to me (especially since I was getting a bit obsessed with checking my email and searching #BBAW on Twitter yesterday.   sheeeeesh – get over my damn self already) and so I thank Lisa at Lit and Life very much for thinking of me and bestowing this incredible award.    I will hereby pass it on to Jodie at BookGazing, Lu at Regular Ruminations, Jenny at Jenny’s Books and Jessi at Casual Dread.   🙂      I am actually very proud of my little blog – I’m doing with it exactly what I want and have no grand goals but it delights me to no end that I have readers that I respect and cherish.   Thank you so much.

Now, for my thoughts on Lost and Found lafjs by Jacqueline Sheehan, Avon Trade 2007, 304 pages.

I enjoyed this novel about a woman who in the first few pages loses her husband to a heart attack.   She is a psychologist so she is supposed to know how to deal with emotional upheavals but she finds she just doesn’t know how to grieve and live and take a year off from her job and throws herself into something else entirely.    She eventually makes friends, finds drama and allows a dog into her life who teaches her that she can learn to love again.    It was good:   three pie slices.   Of course, the dog is awesome!!!   I love dogs.

What else?

BOOK BLOGGER MEET!   I’m meeting one of my blogging buds, Beastmomma, who has recently moved to Massachusetts!    We’re going to shop a bit at IKEA on Monday and then find a nice restaurant for veggies and chat about BOOKS.   I’m very excited.       So more on that next week.

Finally,

I’m off to guard my boat from big bad Hurricane Bill this weekend.   I’ll likely be unplugged – the wifi is already iffy and I bet the rain just makes it worse.   Or maybe it won’t rain?    We’ll see.   They (those weather people ‘they’) aren’t making too much of a big deal of it, so no need to be worried or anything.

To end this, how about another pic of my wonderful dog on the boat!

IMG_1158c

24 thoughts on “Oh, Just Lots of Stuff

  1. Books and a pool! Now that’s my kind of book club 😀 Congrats on the Zombie Chicken, and hooray for meeting blogging friends! I hope you and Beastmomma have a wonderful time.

    1. Someday Nymeth! You will arrive on this side of the pond and get mobbed by all of us who want to meet you. Oh great, now you’ll be scared to visit! ah. Thanks for being you.

    1. Thanks Serena! I do try to do it all or nothing. Good luck with your fantasy football. Ya know, I won the first two years I did that but it’s been years…

  2. Aw, thanks, Care! 🙂 I wonder if any of my fellow book bloggers down here in Georgia would want to do a meet-up. It sounds like fun!

    Good luck guarding the boat against Hurricane Bill. Your dog is adorable!

    1. I bet they would! Altho, now that you mention it, I’m can’t think of any other bloggers from your area of the world… Lots from Oregon tho – ever noticed that?

    1. The movie I looked up on imdb says Patty Duke is the star. and another movie with Charlie in the title (bot not this one) starred Shirley Maclaine.

      I heart my new book club!

  3. Beer,books and pool? Wow–that is my kind of book club!

    I’ve never heard of My Sweet Charlie. I’ll be interested to hear what you think. Always good to find something old that still worth reading.

    What kind of dog is that?

  4. Our book club rocks. I seriously hope we can BBBP it again! I’d also love to grab the book from you when you’re done reading it. My library doesn’t have it, and it lost its lending priviledges to other librarys.

    Incidentally, have a weirdly shaped sunburn from yesterday. Meh. Totally worth it. : )

    P.S. The dog made Lost and Found. I think that’s why I loved it so much!

  5. PS You should enter the Dog Days of Summer challenge over at Literate Housewife and write a review of Lost and Found. She wants people to take a pic of their bet enjoying the ‘dog days of summer’ too!

  6. Wow, your book club sounds like the greatest! Blackberry beer, books, friends, and a pool?? You can’t beat that!

    Congrats on your Zombie Chicken Award 🙂 It’s very well deserved! I love your blog Care.

    And please stay safe from Bill! I freaking hate hurricanes. I hope Bill just stays in the Atlantic and doesn’t bother anyone!

  7. Might have heard of the movie but I’m not sure but it’s cool you got the book in your library 🙂

    Congrats on the award Care. I wish there was a book blogger meet where I live, anyone willing to come to India?

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

