The Jane Austen Book Club

Review  tjabckjf The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler, A Plume Book 2005, 250 pages

I didn’t officially sign up for the Jane Austen Everything Challenge per the wonderful Stephanie over at her Written Word blog, but it feels like I must have allowed it to creep into my subconscious.    Since the deadline for signing up passed me by, I’ve viewed the movie Sense and Sensibility – the 1995 version (with Kate Winslet and scripted for the screen by the awesomely talented Emma Thompson) and now this:  I’ve read what I think of as spin-off book.

I can’t wait to get the movie and watch it.    And why?  because I’ve heard the movie is BETTER than the book!   I really didn’t like the book much.

(you know it’s a bad sign when I go here to see what others are saying BEFORE I ever finish…    I was relieved to see that most of you, my blogging friends who have already read this, found it to be as baffling or not-so-good-as-hoped as I did.)

The unidentified narrator drove me bananas!

“The six of us – Jocelyn, Bernadette, Sylvia, Allegra, Prudie, and Grigg – made up the full roster…”

and yet – the narrator was NONE of these people, from what I could tell.    Bugged the heck out of me throughout the entire book.

However, I am inspired to read ALL of the Austen books and may even re-read a few.

Two pie slices.

16 thoughts on “The Jane Austen Book Club

  1. verbivore

    I think it’s pretty rare when a modern spin-off of an old classic manages to be just as good as the classic. I think I’ll skip this book, but if the movie is at all worth it, let us know and I’ll try it 🙂

    1. I will! I hope to see the movie soon and must report on it for the Austen Challenge that I really didn’t think I would sign up for and now am doing really well at – at least in quantity…

  2. Yep, the movie was much more enjoyable than the book!!

    BTW, I would be happy to add you to the list of participants for Everything Austen. I’ve added a few since the deadline has passed, since I’m a softy like that. E-mail me if you want to be in!

  3. glendasikes

    I *loved* the movie — such a fantastic group of female leads. I’ve not read the book, so I can’t compare the two, but the movie is one of my favorites I’ve watched this year.

  4. I didn’t like this book either. I had expected more book club, more Jane Austen, and that’s not what it was (at least not in my opinion). It honestly felt like “Jane Austen” was inserted in the title to help the author sell books. I have heard good things about the movie, though, and I hope to watch it some day.

  5. I liked the book, but I LOVE the movie and watch it all the time. Movie!Grigg is pretty much my ideal man and has forever ruined my expectations for future relationships. 🙂

  6. Yeah the book was odd wasn’t it? I loved any bits where they focused on Austen’s books and I have to say making one of them a passionate skydiver was a nice touch, but I remember wanting more than what was on offer.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

