I Dare Ya!

Chartroose has thrown down a challenge:     To view 10 Ingmar Bergman films before the end of the year.

I accept!

I’ve actually seen ONE Bergman film (Fanny & Alexander) and I saw it the year it came out, 1984.   I was a freshman or sophomore in college (can’t remember if it was spring or fall) and saw it at the campus student-run theatre that showcased the ‘artsy fartsy’ flicks.    I also saw Eraserhead and Casablanca there.    And some other crazy alien flick that I can’t remember the title but it was about some alien lifeform that fed on human orgasms.   Yea, huh? I know.

I went to Wikipedia that awesome site to research who knows what and possibly inaccurate but awesome all the same, and I will copy the paragraph showcasing the 10 films I commit to viewing:

In the early 60’s he directed a trilogy that explored the theme of faith and doubt in Yahweh, Through a Glass Darkly (Såsom i en Spegel – 1961), Winter Light (Nattvardsgästerna – 1962), and The Silence (Tystnaden – 1963). In 1966, he directed Persona, a film that he himself considered one of his most important works. While the shockingly experimental film won few awards many consider it his masterpiece. Other notable films of the period include The Virgin Spring (Jungfrukällan – 1960), Hour of the Wolf (Vargtimmen – 1968), Shame (Skammen – 1968) and A Passion/The Passion of Anna (En Passion – 1969). Bergman also produced extensively for Swedish television at this time. Two works of note were Scenes from a Marriage(Scener ur ett äktenskap – 1973) and The Magic Flute (Trollflöjten – 1975).

But I also reserve the right to re-view Fanny & Alexander if I can’t get one of the above.    But it looks like Netflix has them all!   GOODIE.

10 thoughts on “I Dare Ya!

  1. Well done on joining this challenge – Bergman-films are a stable her in Denmark, and they are not all considered artsy-fartsy 😉 But then again, they are not really foreign language for us in Denmark, although, I must hurry to say, Danish and Swedish is not the same 😉

    1. I mean ‘artsy-fartsy’ in a respectful way, truly! But yes, foreign language flicks are not what stereotypical Americans choose to see. I happen to love subtitles.

  2. Kudos to you! I think the only Bergman film I have ever seen is Fanny and Alexander which I did really enjoy. I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you think of some of his others.

  3. Yay!!! I ❤ you! I should watch some of these again too. I haven't seen "The Silence" or "Hour of the Wolf." If you need a substitute, try "Wild Strawberries." It was the first Bergman I watched, and I was incredibly moved by it.

  4. The only movie I’ve watched in this is Casablanca and it has nothing to do with your challenge. But I love discovering new movies. All the best for you challenge. I know you’ll do well 🙂

  5. I won’t take you up on this dare, but I just had to chime in to say I absolutely loved Fanny and Alexander. I have it in book form as well, and have read and re-read it. It was the basis for one of my independent study credits in university, too!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

