Review The Wednesday Letters

Review  twljfw The Wednesday Letters by Jason F. Wright, 2007 Berkley Books, 280 pages

I have a new review system!   Since I like pie, I’m going to use slices of pie as my rating guide.   If I give a book five slices, then  you know I would want to eat the entire pie in one sitting – it’ll be THAT good.   If I give a book one slice of pie, then I was able to eat the one slice but I didn’t care for it much.    If I give a book two slices of pie, then I ate it and liked it OK but it won’t go into my list of favorite pies.    Are you getting the idea?   A three slice of pie book is one I enjoyed, and a four slice is really good!   Might go onto my list of faves but, again, a five slicer is incredibly delectably awesome.

The Wednesday Letters gets two slices of pie.

pierating1 pierating

An older couple with three adult children pass away on the same night.   The children come home to attend the funeral and find out that Dad wrote Mom letters ever single Wednesday of their entire married life.    The history, the tenderness, the fights and disagreements, the exciting adventures, and all the secrets are revealed.    Except one big secret which comes out at the very end.

Actually, not quite.   The very end is a happy years-later tender scene – oh wait!   The very last ending is one more letter.   The book has a gimmick of a sealed envelope in the back of the book which will probably get lost since it’s not physically included in the book spine – thus the word ‘gimmick.’

It’s very Christian centered and yet its a very superficial sugary coating of the power of love and not all that much religion.  My thoughts:   It was a just a bit too sweet to be believable.

Maybe this is what made me think of pie?


9 thoughts on “Review The Wednesday Letters

  1. I have this one on my shelf, but I haven’t had a chance to read it. It sounds interesting, and I noticed the envelope in the back cover thinking to myself that it’s bound to fall off at some point. Hopefully it stays put until I get a chance to read it. 😉

    –Anna

    I ended up taping the envelope into the back page – I was afraid of it getting lost because the book was loaned to me. I returned it, so not my problem anymore!?

  2. Oh…I didn’t know this book was Christian centered. Thanks for pointing that out.

    Sure, you’re welcome. Use the info as you will.

  3. Good idea with the pies. Although, now I’m hungry!

    I’ve heard good things about this book from one of my friends. It had been a choice for our book club, but it didn’t win in the vote-off.

  4. Love your new pie system! Have fun at yoga and doing the Readathon cheerleading tomorrow. I’m looking forward to it! (The Readathon, that is. Not the yoga.)

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail