Preview or INview?

Their Eyes Were Watching God tewwg by Zora Neale Hurston, originally published in 1937, my copy by HarperCollins/Perennial Classics 1998, 219 pages.

I had really hoped to finish this  in the month of March but SWOOOOOSSssshhHH!    did that deadline come and go fast.

So now it’s almost the fourth day of April and I’m still slowly working my way through this gorgeous novel.     I am finding the prose part beautiful – insightful – wonderful;  and I’m finding the dialog slow-going…   It’s almost like I’m translating the words – seeing the letters and tough spellings and hearing them in my head sounded out and then must re-read fast to get the rhythm and THEN pay attention to what’s being said, exchanged, communicated.

I’m loving every minute.

Thus, I thought I would instead remark on my thoughts so far (I’m on page 129), share some of my favorite passages, and a few of the words I’ve come across that I either loved or didn’t know the official definition.

I had always thought that I ‘should’ read this book.   I did not expect to find it some wonderfully delightful!   I’m telling everyone that I am loving it so much and it’s interesting how many people don’t seem to recognize the title.    Well, maybe next time they hear of it, they can remember that “Care told me to read this”!

On young love, awakened undefined and undirected passions:   (p. 11;  just before Janie gets her first kiss.)

It was a spring afternoon in West Florida.   Janie had spent most of the day under a blossoming pear tree in the back yard.  She had been spending every minute that she could steal from her chores under that tree for the last three days.   That was to say, ever since the first tiny bloom had opened.  It had called her to come and gaze on a mystery.  From barren brown stems to glistening leaf-buds;  from the leaf-buds to snowy virginity of bloom.  It stirred her tremendously.   How?  Why?   It was like a flute song forgotten in another existence and remembered again.  What?  How?  Why?  This singing she heard that had nothing to do with her ears.  The rose of the world was breathing out smell.  It followed her through all her waking moments and caressed her in her sleep.  It connected itself with other vaguely felt matters that had struck her outside observation and buried themselves in her flesh.  Now they emerged and quested about her consciousness.

She was stretched on her back beneath the pear tree soaking in the alto chant of the visistng bees, the gold of the sun and the panting breath of the breeze when the inaudible voice of it all came to her.  She saw a dust-bearing bee sink into the sanctum of a bloom;  the thousand sister-calyxes arch to meet the love embrace and the ecstatic shiver of the tree from root to tiniest branch creaming every blossom and frothing with delight.  So this was a marriage!

And when she realizes that love and marriage are NOT necessarily the same thing:

Janie stood where he left her for unmeasured time and thought.   She stood there until something fell off the shelf inside her.  Then she went inside there to see what it was.  It was her image of Jody tumbled down and shattered.  But looking at it she saw that it never was the flesh and blood figure of her dreams.  Just something she had grabbed up to drape her dreams over.  In a way she tuned her back upon the image where it lay and looked further.  She had no more blossomy openings dusting pollen over her man, neither any glistening young fruit where the petals used to be.  She found that she had a host of thoughts she had never expressed to him, and numerous emotions she had never let Jody know about.  Things packed up and put away in parts of her heart where he could never find them.  She was saving up feelings for some man she had never seen.  She had an inside and an outside now and suddenly she knew how not to mix them.

I noted SO many more paragraphs and passages!   I’ll spare you and tell you to just go read it, if you haven’t already.

I could have read this for Ali’s Diversity Challenge, but I didn’t officially sign up for that.    I do much better with these reading challenges when I don’t have that ‘have to’ pressure.

VOCAB
zigaboo –   a black man that is triflin’;  used as an insult.

monstropolous –  “Time makes everything old so the kissing, young darkness became a monstropolous old thing while Janie talked.” a made up word!?    Creative license by ZNH.

sankled –   “Therefore Janie drank her coffee and sankled on back to her room…” Perhaps, something like sauntered –  leisurely walked?    It’s not like this word is a stumbling block, the cadence and image seems to work, but is it a real word?

meriny –  “One big meriny colored woman was so ugly…”    Another creative ZNH neologism!    The internet search suggest light-colored; I was thinking maybe ruddy-red?

Zora Neale Hurston
Zora Neale Hurston

word I found looking up a few of the words from this book!

neologism n. A new word, expression, or usage. The creation or use of new words or senses.

Other Reviews:
I know this is extremely lazy of me but all the linkings intimidated me beyond my time and effort allowance for getting this post done today!   BOO HOO!?

SO if you click on this sentence, you will be treated to all the results of Fyrefly’s awesome book blog search engine…

I think that will work, right?        Or leave a link in the comments here – I won’t read any reviews until I’m done reading the actual book.

Just another beautiful cover for this.
Just another beautiful cover for this.

Has anyone seen the movie starring Halle Berry?

10 thoughts on “Preview or INview?

  1. I read and loved Their Eyes Were Watching God for high school, maybe it’s time to revisit it!

    I’m really loving it! Oh, I’ve said that a few times already. Of course, you could wonder why I’m blogging instead of reading right now.

  2. The whole dialect thing has me scared. I finally conquered it enough to check it out of the library. Then re-scared myself without even cracking it open and returned it unread. Shame, shame, shame on me. I’m currently finding that I love Jane Eyre, though, I book I was sure I wouldn’t like…so maybe I’ll get a little braver in trying new things.

    Oh, nothing to be scared of – it just takes a bit more thought, that’s all. and it’s not like complicated thought – more of a ‘go slower’ kind of thoughts. I really recommend it.

  3. This book was in my wishlist for sooo long. Finally I found it last week in the bookstore and despite the high cost I couldn’t help not picking it up. I’ll be reading it soon 🙂

    Oh good! You’ve been reading some real classics lately, huh? I look forward to your reactions to this book.

  4. missy

    It took me a few pages to get the dialect down and even then I had to re-read a few passages to get the gist of what was being said. I loved this book.
    “They were staring at the dark, but their eyes were watching God.”–beautiful passage!!!

    Oh yes! many beautiful passages… Thanks!

  5. alirambles

    Go ahead and add your link on the Diversity Rocks page, if you’d like–the challenge only requires a minimum of one book, after all, and you’re doing it!

    Cool! I saw that you have a lot of cool updates to your challenge on that blog. Thanks for the invite. 🙂

  6. i have heard wonderful things about this book and from your reflection, all those praises are well deserved.

    It’s good. and it’s a classic! and it’s only ~200 pages!!

  7. I’m sure I’ll have trouble with the dialect too, but it sounds like making an effort is more than worth it. I have this on my Classics list and I’m really looking forward to it.

    and I look forward to your thoughts on this. 🙂

  8. I’ve heard this book is fantastic. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. I wonder if I would understand the dialect better since I lived in the Deep South for years.

    It’s got a rhythm – it’s just that the spelling can be a tough translate to get into the rhythm.

  9. Pingback: More Thoughts on 2009’s Reading « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

