Review The Mathematics of Love

Review  tmoled The Mathematics of Love by Emma Dawson

Advanced Reader’s Edition 2006, 406 pages.

I bookmooched this and can’t for the life of me remember who blogged about it and made me look for it!

It’s labeled as an ARE – so this was not TO ME by any publisher…   I don’t think I have ever read an ARE (ARC?) and was shocked how many typos I found.      The back says “If you’ve read the galley, I’d love to hear what you think.”   What is the galley? Do tell.     Also, when you are given an ARC (obviously I’ve shied away from this because I don’t want to give negative reviews! and want to stay under the radar thankyouverymuch), do they want you to point out typos and misspellings?   Just curious.

I didn’t like this book much.   I’m giving it two stars, for just ‘OK’.    It just didn’t add up!   (ha!   math joke, per title.)

I had to restart it because I was confused by the fourth page.    I did better in concentrating for the second attempt – part of it was early 19th century language and was able to stick with it but I found the back and forth point of views between time periods off putting.     In fact, I never did buy the relationship setup at all.

SPOILER ALERT…   The first story is an injured soldier officer (Major Fairhurst) who fought Napolean and his coming home to England to run the farm.    As landed gentry, he needs a wife but his memories of love found on his travels as a soldier prevent him from committing to love again.    He meets an independent young woman and fails to see the hand in front of his face as he corresponds with her.    Blah, blah, blah and quite a few gratuitous sex scenes and an undiscovered daughter; he FINALLY figures it out.

I did kind of like him…

In the meantime?   the second story is a teenage girl in the 1970s who goes to spend a summer with her uncle who happens to own the house that the officer lived in from the other story line.   She is given Fairhurst’s letters to read and feels a (poorly written) dejavu connection to him.   She has crazy shit to deal with; her batty grandmother is beating a 5 year old (is he her cousin?!) and the neighbor teaches her photography and then seduces her.

The photography explanations were quite good – having taken a class in photography, I could relate.  Although my memory of the process is hazy.     Now with everything digital and easier and yet NOT easier, it was a good discussion of photography as ‘art’.

Somehow these two story lines relate?   and the reader is swept away to consider all the crazy notions of love?    Lots of distracting connection clues given but never satisfactorily tied together enough for me.    I could be bad at math, but I don’t think so.

(I did finish this and this must count for something, right.   Get it?  count?!)

For a more positive review – check out Fyrefly’s. You can get to more reviews from there, as well.

8 thoughts on “Review The Mathematics of Love

  1. I’ve read ARCs with very few typos, so I think it just depends (on what, I don’t know, but it just depends).

    And I don’t like math, so any book with that word in the title is already off to a bad start with me.

    Well, maybe you would like this book because there really was NO math in it at all.

  2. I think the number of typos in an ARC has a lot to do with the author. People who write cleaner copy will have fewer typos and misspellings in their early copies and then, hopefully, they’ll get some of that mess edited out.

    Galley and ARC mean pretty much the same thing, these days, although there is an early galley form that I think they used to call the “blue line”, the one that came back with editors’ marks. Since everything’s done by computer, now, I don’t know if they use the same terms as they used to.

    fascinating! thank you for explaining this.

  3. I sometimes put off books I like because I don’t want them to end. I devoured the first 400 pages of the last Harry Potter book, but it took me days to get to the end because I just didn’t want it to be over. I still am sad it’s over.

    So I’m NOT the only one. I have yet to finish Something Wicked This Way Comes. I think with my goal of finishing by Halloween, and missing it, that I want to wait until NEXT 10/30.

  4. I love reading ARCs but the typos are a mite distracting at times. I don’t think they want to hear about them from reviewers, though.

    Hee hee! They would think I’d want an editing job, huh?

  5. Well I read this book some time ago and just couldn’t get into it. Another thing is, I don’t like maths! LOL.

    Hey! somebody else did read this! Was it your review I read? I still cant’ figure out why/how I got this…

  6. Pingback: Emma Darwin – The Mathematics of Love « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

