Geek 12 Review: Stardust

Stardust   by Neil Gaiman

Allessandra
http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/
How did you like Stardust? How do you think it compares to the movie, if you’ve seen it?

Inkdrinker
http://karinlibrarian.wordpress.com/
Okay, so I haven’t read or seen the movie Stardust by Neil Gaiman. So, I was wondering if the book sticks to the movie – have you seen it?

I liked Stardust very much.    I didn’t love it, however.   It was nice.   What I am excited to do here is to answer your NEXT question…

I read this book for a number of reasons.   1.  Nymeth recommended as the best book for introduction to Gaiman.  [and I had just received Stardust in the mail via Netflix - quite timely!!]   As a relatively unaware book lover, I really don’t have any concept in my head of the fantasy genre.    I loved LOTR.  (I only read because they were making the movies)  I love The Chronicles of Narnia.  (read 30+ years ago.)   I just don’t seek out books just because of who wrote them and I don’t stick to genres.   Heck, I don’t even KNOW all the genres or pay much attention.   I’m very much a person who reads a book that falls into my lap and I can rarely tell you how or by which channel it fell there.   Sometimes I wonder how I ever decided what to read before…  until…

book blogging.    I’m learning about book classifications, and authors, and genres and words, etc, that totally escaped my notice.    Ya don’t know what you don’t know, right?    [also, keep in mind, I can't recall taking ANY  English/Lit classes in college which was more years ago than I care to share;  all this academic stuff is FUN to me but I'm extremely rusty on what is what.]

I had never heard of Neil Gaiman until quite recently.   I kept seeing his name bouncing around.    Then I watched Stardust – it featured a few of my favorite actors so I added it to my Netflix queue.   

(I have a feeling this post is going to be long.    Please feel free to search for your name if you only want to read the answer you proposed…   My hub is out of town and I’ve been sitting at my PC all…   day..    long…   My poor dog is giving me that look:  “Come ON mum, let’s DO something.”)

Lightheaded
http://lightheadedbooks.blogspot.com/
As for Stardust, I’m a Gaiman fan so I hope you had a grand time reading that one and would soon read his other books.

I’m going to address Lightheaded’s comment before jumping headfirst into shallow water with my book vs. movie dissertation.     I did enjoy Stardust and I will probably return to Gaiman someday.    I am curious about those graphic Sandman books.   And am willing to consider any sugs, as well.

OOPS!  As I began to write this, I feel I must acknowledge that I read a paperback print version with only illustrations at the beginning of each chapter.   I was not aware until 3 seconds ago when I did a google search for ‘Claire Danes Stardust’ and these words popped up:   Based on the best-selling graphic novel by Neil Gaiman In a countryside town bordering on a magical land, a young man makes a promise…    I did not read a graphic novel.  

Jackie
http://www.literaryescapism.com/
The movie of Stardust intrigued me and I’m interested in seeing it; however, I haven’t read the book yet. Will I still be able to enjoy the novel if I see the movie first? Will I enjoy the movie if I read the novel first? Did the movie stick pretty closely to the novel or are you given two different stories? If there are two different stories, was the movie version well down or a complete hack job?

BOOK Versus MOVIE.   

I enjoyed both the book AND the movie equally!   No, I take that back.  I think I liked the movie better.    As for the question to watch first then read or read then watch; well, I’ve ruined that opportunity to compare the experience.  Anyone else want to provide the read –> watch perspective?  

Jackie – you may not want to read what I have to say next…  However, I don’t think it will diminish the book if you see the movie first, imo.    The movie was NOT a hack job…

Viewing the movie did not ruin the book for me.   But the movie is fuller and richer.   AND, you gain the benefit (or have your own imagination ruined) by having the images of what the Star looks like (Claire Danes) and seeing the village of Wall, etc, ready made in your mind for you.   

It is interesting that Inkdrinker’s question was phrased ‘does the book stick to the movie’?  and not the other way around.   Am I to assume the movie was created first and then the book was published?    That can’t be right.  

No, the movie does not stick to the book.   The book has a nicely wrapped up ending – all sweet and easy.   The movie needed violence and big drama fighting to realize WHO the final ruler of Stormhold would be.    In fact, as I write this, I don’t even remember if the mean witch (Michele Pfeiffer in the movie) character even dies?    I don’t recall what happened to her, now that I think of it…   uh oh.   

And the movie does a very creative fanciful handling of the lightening pirates!   I loved this part!   It’s totally different in the book.    Again, sweet and easy.

Bart
http://www.bartsbookshelf.co.uk/
Tell me about your favourite minor character from Stardust.

My favorite minor characters were the dead brothers!    In the movie, these guys were terrific comedy.   I was also impressed at how well they came alive (so to speak) in the book, too, but less comedy in written form.

Maree
http://justaddbooks.blogspot.com/
I loved Yvaine as a character, she was so unexpected as a falling star. What did you think of her?

Since I saw the movie first, I feel I can’t address this question of her being unexpected.   She was adorable and feisty and quite true to character as written.    I loved the speech to her beloved when he’s a dormouse in the little cage.  Which is NOT IN THE BOOK, darn it.

BookChronicle
http://bookchronicle.wordpress.com/
So I saw the movie for Stardust and I hated it. Have you seen it yet and if so how does it do as an adaptation?

I am curious as to what exactly you hated about the movie.    Just not your taste and style in sweet fantasy love stories, perhaps?    What were you expecting?   I personally had few expectations.    I knew it was supposed to be a sweet fantasy love story adventure and that’s exactly what I got.  The book was also a sweet fantasy love store adventure.   The movie was more so – it had MORE.    More story, more comedy, more.

Trish
http://trishsdiary.wordpress.com/
Do you think people who don’t normally read fantasy will like Stardust?

Tough, tough question.   I think it depends on why they don’t normally read fantasy.   If they don’t read it because they’ve just never gotten to it (like me) and not out of some preconceived prejudice, then YES; they might like Stardust.    It’s really not that meaty of a story – just an enjoyable read.   Nothing too deep, just sweet and easy.   (if it was supposed to be deep, I missed it.)
Finally, ALL of these next Qs were asked by
Joy Renee
http://joystory.blogspot.com/
How was Point-of-View handled? Was there a single POV character or did it alternate among two or more. Was it always clear whose eyes and mind were filtering?

Um, help!   I think it was just third person.   I can’t break it down much more than that – too many years away from school.   I think it was just third person….   I don’t remember even thinking about this while I was reading.   So, at least I can say it wasn’t distracting!   No alternating…

How was language used to set tone and mood?   Was the prose dense or spare? Were sentences generally simple or complex?

Language was light and beautifully descriptive – not too much, always enough.   Not too dense, nor too spare.   I would say it was generally simple.  As for tone and mood, it is an adventure and it never got too dark or menacing even though our heroes do face some menacing characters.    Perhaps, since I had seen the movie and knew how it would play out…

How was metaphor used? Were associations fresh or did they tend toward cliche? Did they add to your understanding of the theme?   What was the central or organizing theme?

Ugh.   I’m skipping this.     (sorry!)

How does the title relate to the story? Was it fitting?   YES!   The title refers to our human understanding of a star and how it can be totally different in other worlds; we need only apply a little magic and imagination and suspend some of that annoying disbelief.   Uh oh – does this answer fit the question I just skipped?  

Re Gaiman: I’ve yet to read even one but I keep seeing his name everywhere online and note he uses themes I gravitate to–mythology for one. Can you say anything that might make my desire to try a Gaiman more urgent.   

Nope.   I have a blank to this one, too.    I suggest you seek out one of the many enthusiastic Gaiman fans.   (I’m not quite there.)

Bart’s Bookshelf has a wonderful ‘what-this-book-is-about’ (which I obviously failed to provide…) post which you can get to by clicking here.

♦ ♦

7 Responses to “Geek 12 Review: Stardust”


  1. 1 Kim July 24, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I also liked the movie version of Stardust better for many of the same reasons, it just had more than the book did. I just posted my Weekly Geeks review of Stardust too — http://grayskyeyes.wordpress.com/2008/07/24/review-stardust-wg-12/

    Thank you! (are you signed in when you comment here? if yes, then I believe you have a box in your WP profile that is blank and should have your blog address in it. It’s default is blank a lot of people miss this.)

  2. 2 Bart July 24, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    It’d only be fair to answer my own question as well (just a shame I’ve lent my book out and I can’t remember the little guys name!)
    However it is the chap that first helps Tristan out in the woods and feeds him breakfast (buttered mushrooms?).

    FRIED FIELD-MUSHRUMPS! yum, yum. I would have liked to seen even more of this guy, too. The book referred to him as ‘Charmed’?

  3. 3 Nymeth July 27, 2008 at 11:17 am

    You know, I think your no genres reading approach is actually a good one. I’m very aware of fantasy because many of my favourite authors write it, but other than that I try not to pay that much attention to genres either. Good books are good books, regardless of which categories they fit.

    I definitely think you should read more Gaiman, but since he’s my favourite authors I guess I’m slightly biased :P My next suggestion is American Gods. It’s as different from Stardust as it gets, so it will give you a good idea of how versatile he is!

    Ok, I WILL! I’ll add Am. Gods to my tbr. I agree, good books are just good books regardless of genre. I learn so much when I jump around in style,topic, theme, etc.

  4. 4 Josette August 14, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I actually enjoyed the movie more than the book. The movie’s funny while the book’s more on the serious side but it’s a fun read! Here’s my Stardust review. :)

    Thanks Josette for stopping by! We don’t often find movies better than their source material but it is fun when it happens. Not to say the book was bad, though. That’s not my intention…


  1. 1 More Lit Flick Stuff « Care’s Online Book Club Trackback on September 3, 2008 at 6:58 am
  2. 2 Stardust by Neil Gaiman | Books Love Me - Reviews Trackback on September 28, 2008 at 11:52 am
  3. 3 The Princess Bride « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on February 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,406 other followers

Twitter Updates

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,406 other followers

