Archive for July 22nd, 2008

Geek 12 Review: The Handmaid’s Tale

So everyone seems to want my thoughts on The Handmaid’s Tale.  Well, everyone except those who want me to tell of my love for Stardust!?   I want to address these before this gets too crazy!    Too late – I’ve been working on this all day.   Here we go:   (Question in blue, Answer in red.)

 

Julie

http://bookworm.pilcrow.biz/

Jeez, I haven’t read either of these… okay, would you recommend either of them to others? If you recommend both, which one should I read first, and why?

 

My favorite of the two was Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.   Usually, I prefer NOT to be told, “Oh CARE!  You MUST read this!  You’ll LOVE it!”   Indeed, such was the case with this book.    Why did I finally?   I really don’t know why this happened for me now.    1.  I missed the hype of this book way back when.   2.  I somehow missed the ‘WHAT it’s about’ so I was totally blind to the story and had no clue what I was in for.    3.   It keeps showing up on lists and I only knew it as ‘something I should read.’   Many books fall into that category for me so either it jumped into my hands at the bookstore or… Atwood was alphabetical?   I have no idea.

 

Julie, if points 1 or 2 describe you – read it.   If you prefer the fantasy that Gaiman is known and loved for, you will like Stardust, too.    Ah heck – READ ‘EM BOTH.    It does not matter in which order.   Whatever you are in the mood for.    Stardust is by far, the happier of the two.

 

And, this question alone SAVES ME!  from even a quick outline of plot.   I won’t do it.   Spoiler alert from here on?!

 

Joanne asks…

http://bookzombie.blogspot.com/

Do you think that this vision of the future is possible for us? How do you think women who do not have equal rights feel about this book?

 

Do I think this vision is possible?   I sincerely hope this is NOT part of any future possible to us, but I know not to say never.   Somewhere in the world right now, this is happening in similar form.   After I read Reading Lolita in Tehran, I remember wondering out loud if such could ever happen in America and I was severely disagreed with, “No, never in America!!”   But, I wonder.   Fanaticism is just plain scary.    

 

I had to read the second question quite a few times…    I could even suggest that few if any women anywhere have totally equal rights, to some extent.   Thus the fight continues even when others think no fight is needed.    So, if you want me to put myself in place of women where I  don’t think have equal rights to the men in society…   in Texas?  Or Afghanistan?  Or  Canada?   I can’t speak for them.    Myself, I was terrified, somber, left cold, by this tale.   And I devoured it!   I could not stop reading.

 

Bybee

http://bybeebooks.blogspot.com/

Regarding The Handmaid’s Tale — who do you think was worse at perpetuating this sick society, men or women?    

 

Oh.   I’m trying to answer these as if we are sitting in a book club meeting or face to face over tea…   Let’s switch to wine, shall we?    (I don’t like attempting to be academic, which is what this feels like.  Like school.)    The feminist in me says the men.   Yea – tis the MEN’s fault!    But humans can be evil, regardless of gender.

 

Beastmomma

http://beastmomma.squarespace.com/

For Handmaiden’s Tale, what will stick with you from the book? Will you read other books by the author?

 

I am having such a hard time with this question!   I guess I will touch on my favorite part, the ending.     I thoroughly loved the relief, sort of, of knowing that academia finds this tale in the far far away future and all seems….  Normal?    At least, sane?   Comic even.  That the world didn’t end with fire and brimstone?   Yes, yes, that’s it.  I think.     I know I needed that closure and was thoroughly impressed with Atwood for giving us the epilogue.  Thank you MA!   It was all a dream…   (not really, nope NOT at all, but it did give me a similar sense of relief.)

 

[I wrote this whole post before I received this question from Christine of http://shereadsbooks.wordpress.com/...   What’s your take on the last section of The Handmaid’s Tale (”Historical Notes”)? I’ve heard people completely trash it, and others hail it as the most brilliant part of the entire book. I wrote a paper on it last year arguing that it’s completely necessary to the novel. What did you think of it? How did it change your perception of the events in the rest of the book (or, did it)? Do you think it’s a necessary addition, or should the rest of it have been allowed to stand on its own?]   Yes, Christine, it is necessary.

 

Lightheaded – one of my favorite blog headers, btw – gotta love the fishies!

http://lightheadedbooks.blogspot.com/

Did you notice that the Philippines was mentioned in The Handmaid’s Tale? It’s where I’m from and yes, what Atwood pointed out in the book is correct. But I digress. I’d like to know your thoughts about The Handmaid’s Tale. I haven’t reread it for quite sometime (I think I first read it more than ten years ago) but it’s still a powerful book for me. Do you foresee a future like the one painted by Atwood in that novel?

 

I’m so sorry Lightheaded, but I do not recall the Philippines reference.   And I no longer have the book in my possession or I would be flipping through to find it!    But this reminds me that I thought it really cool that it was based in the Boston area!   Definitely New England…

 

Heather

http://www.age30books.blogspot.com/

I’ve heard that The Handmaid’s Tale would be a perfect intro to “science fiction-esque” books for someone who has never read that genre before. Do you agree/disagree? Have you read sci-fi/fantasy/dystopian books before?

 

YES!   I had NO IDEA that this might be science fiction (reminded me of Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro).   Some of us (me included) do tend to jump to conclusions that the science fiction genre and even the term ‘futuristic’ implies space ships and alien beings from other planets, don’t we?     So, if you want to read science fiction that is not about spaceships, sure, read The Handmaid’s Tale and we can discuss.    To answer your second question, I read Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash last year for the sole reason that it was science fiction.  I enjoyed it immensely.    I would read more; it just isn’t my first genre choice.   I don’t know if I have a genre preference, actually…

 

Eva

http://astripedarmchair.wordpress.com/

Have you read any other Margaret Atwood? What did you think of The Handmaid’s Tale compared to her other books?

 

No, Eva, this is my first Atwood.   Which one do you recommend next for me?   I’m thinking Blind Assassin…  no reason, it’s top of mind, is all.    I’m getting vibes that she is not afraid to try the different and unusual; would this be correct?

 

Trish

http://trishsdiary.wordpress.com/

Going off of Joanne’s question: Do you think we’re heading to a society like the one in Handmaid’s Tale? I saw a post today on a non-book blog that linked to an article about a law related to abortion that Bush wanted and instantly the blogger was saying we’re headed to a Handmaid’s Tale-type society. What do you think?

 

No, Trish, I do not think we are headed that way – but let me change my mind after November.    When’s that next seat open on the Supreme Court? – I suppose I should know that.   It does not hurt to have some people consider such a FEAR though, just to keep us all on our toes, maybe…   We must not get complacent.    (But I am… )

 

Dewey

http://www.deweymonster.com

Were you able to identify with the character Offred? I saw Margaret Atwood speak once, and she said that people approach her and tell her it’s like she predicted the future, although she disagrees. Do you think there are any aspects of the novel that seem to reflect today’s political atmosphere?

 

The hardest question of all!   Yes, I was able to identify with Offred.   I loved her power of observation and I AM likely to be one who plays along as well as have a friend who doesn’t.     I am fearful of a moral majority that is neither.   I’m outraged at the little (or huge?) things – like book banning, and forbidding sex ed and the theory of evolution, etc.     But will we ever see SEX like it was formalized in this book?   Egads.   THAT was the strangest part!   I doubt it.    I don’t have any doubts, however, that any sleazeballs in power would have access to some kind of brothel.     Does that answer the question?  Nope.   Today’s political atmosphere…    I think today’s times are showing us that the tool to dumb the masses is DISTRACTION,  too much outrage, too much half details and TOO MUCH controversy and not enough rational discourse and courteous respect.    Since, there was little of that nor its opposite in the novel, I guess that is my answer.    If I was a more skilled and practiced thinker I would distract you with such a grand answer that you would forget what you asked me.   

 

A chilling quote I wrote down (page 56) “Ignoring is not the same as ignorance…”

 

 

Kim

grayskyeyes.wordpress.com

Were there any parts of A Handmaid’s Tale, situations or regulations or problems that you found particularly frustrating or disturbing? Do you think this version of a dystopia is possible?

 

Kim, I am embarrassed to say that I had to look up ‘dystopia’ in the dictionary one of my first weeks book-blogging.   Call me Pollyanna?  I know what utopia is so why my first thought was that dystopia was some kind of eye disease, um – oh well…    I should be embarrassed.  

 

The WHOLE thing was disturbing!  And frustrating!!   From the slow hints of what was coming and then the QUICK taking away of privileges, the fearful attempt to go to Canada, the wondering what they were doing to her daughter, just how nuts the whole thing was.    To wondering how one could sit and do nothing for hours.   Prison would be more fun.   And how sad to have NO ONE to talk to!    Claustrophobia, anyone?   The brilliancy of the author to manipulate me and give me only crumbs of the story…   To the beautiful words to describe the flowers in the garden…    I so loved the unfolding even as my understanding of the horror grew.    How thankful that the sunshine and fresh air came back at the conference at the end.   I could breathe again.

 

“There is something subversive about this garden of Serena’s, a sense of buried things bursting upwards, wordlessly, into the light, as if to point, to say:  whatever is silenced will clamor to be heard, though silently.  A Tennyson garden, heavy with scent, languid, the return of the word swoon. …Rendezvous, it says, terraces; the sibilants rum up my spine, a shiver as if in a fever.”   (page 153)

 

In my journal, I have scant notes, mostly highlighting pages numbers for further reference.  For page 24, I have written ‘freedom to and freedom from – 8th grade.’  This reminds me of my parochial school graduation class ‘theme’ that our teacher picked as the only choice for us to vote on.   I only recall, “For you have freedom.  Not freedom to do wrong, but freedom to do right and serve God.”   I can’t find this verbatim in my Bible nor do I have a clue where my 8th grade scrapbook is, but the closest verse I could find was 1 Peter 2:16  “Live as free men, yet without using your freedom as a pretext for evil, but live as servants of God.”    (RSV)     I do remember being very perplexed by this definition of ‘freedom’.   And that we were not given any choice at all of what would be our class theme.  Perhaps, THAT is what made it memorable.  If we had suggested something together, would it have stuck with me?  (I would have recommended 1 John 4:7-8   )   

Movie Review The Other Boleyn Girl

Movie Review  The Other Boleyn Girl  The Other Boleyn Girl  2008

Last November, I read and reviewed and rated the book by Philippa Gregory.    I only assigned it 2 1/2 stars.   (Gotta HATE it when I’m not consistent in my ratings…) I think I was bored with the length and ready for it to be DONE and thus rated it so low. Now, my memory and my feelings toward this have improved, with time. I would give it at least 3 stars.

The movie, however, barely earns two. I think it would have been even less if I had NOT read the book. A very ambitious project to keep this to two hours, thus, not enough time to develop the characters and allow the audience to embrace or have any attachment to them. It felt like the scriptwriter had to cram so much in that as a viewer who knew what was to happen, could have checked off the list, “yep, they got that in.” just to move it forward.

The book is better. If you love historical fiction, this is a GOOD read. Watch the movie ONLY to enjoy tearing it apart.

The costumes were lovely… 
P.S.
Was anyone aware of the TV version of this from 2003?!   I just found out about it from imdb.com.   (Click http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0357392/here for the details.)   PLEASE share if you have seen this, and/or seen both!


LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,406 other followers

Twitter Updates

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,406 other followers