I Like Lists, Too

Book Nut has a list of books from somewhere (The Big Read?) and apparently the average adult has only read 6 of these…   How many have you read?

The instructions:
Look at the list and
Bold those you have read.
Italicize those you intend to read.
Underline the books you LOVE.

1. Pride and Prejudice - Jane Austen
2. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling  (I’ve only read one)
5. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
6. The Bible
7. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
8. 1984 – George Orwell
9. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman (I’ve only read the first)
10. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

11. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
12. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
13. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14. Complete Works of Shakespeare
15. Rebecca - Daphne Du Maurier
16. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
17. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks

18. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
19. The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
20. Middlemarch – George Eliot
21. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
22. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy (maybe someday….)
25. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
26. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

28. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
30. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
31. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
34. Emma – Jane Austen
35. Persuasion – Jane Austen
36. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis (Why is this one here? It’s part of the Chronicles of Narnia, right?)
37. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
38. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
40. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
41. Animal Farm – George Orwell
42. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
45. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
46. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
47. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood – this is the last book I read!!!
49. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
50. Atonement – Ian McEwan
51. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52. Dune – Frank Herbert
53. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
55. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
57. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
59. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
60. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez (will seeing the movie count!?)
61. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
62. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
65. Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68. Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding
69. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70. Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72. Dracula – Bram Stoker
73. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
74. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75. Ulysses – James Joyce
76. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
77. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78. Germinal – Emile Zola
79. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
80. Possession – AS Byatt
81. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87. Charlotte’s Web – EB White
88. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
89. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
93. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94. Watership Down – Richard Adams
95. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98. Hamlet – William Shakespeare 
99. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
100. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
Bummer, only have 39 read.   I might have to substitute the Salman Rushdie book from my 1% of the 1001 Well-Read Challenge for Midnight’s Children.    That list is going to change a lot before Feb 09!

 

 

 

11 Responses to “I Like Lists, Too”


  1. 1 beastmomma July 8, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I will confirm my total later, but I think I have read 30 which makes me feel better about my reading accomplishments or lack thereof!

  2. 2 Melissa July 8, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    39′s nothing to sneeze at! I found the list on another blogger’s site; I have no idea where she got it… You’ve read a few that I haven’t. Sometimes, I think I should take these lists seriously, and read all the ones I haven’t yet, but then I realize that there are too many books and not enough time! C’est la vie. :)

  3. 3 Joanne July 8, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    You’re doing better than me (I’d only read 24) but alot of the titles are on my TBR list.

    The first one I hope to get to is The Time Travellers Wife – I read alot of reviews about it and it seems that people either love it or feel kind of blah about it. I guess I’ll find out soon enough :)

  4. 4 chartroose July 9, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Why is “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” on there? Ick! Yuck! Mitch Albom can’t write! I’ve only read 46 of these. Need to get crackin’!

  5. 5 bybee July 10, 2008 at 4:07 am

    This list has some serious flaws! But flawed or not, I love a list, so I counted ‘em up: 48. I was surprised at how many were recent reads, within the last year or two.

  6. 6 Julie July 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    That is a weird list! But I’ve read *cough* 55 of ‘em. I highly recommend Midnight’s Children, by the way.

  7. 7 Arleigh July 12, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    16, which is good considering most of them fall under classics and I read mainly historical fiction.

  8. 8 wendy July 14, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Only a paltry 15 for me. They should add some Stephen King to the list. That would bump my numbers up!

  9. 9 Nicole July 20, 2008 at 8:37 am

    I’m going to post this on my blog soon, too. It is a weird list. But, I’ve read 27 with several on my TBR list.

    I loved reading about your challenge and hope you enjoy Eat, Pray, Love. I liked the book but I do understand other’s problems with it. I hadn’t heard ANY hype when I read it so I am interested what you’ll think of it.

  10. 10 Brandon July 20, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I’ve read 25 from that list, with maybe 4 or 5 that I never finished.


  1. 1 Another List of Books « Book Escape Trackback on July 21, 2008 at 7:52 am

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,417 other followers

Twitter Updates

#carespieshow #applepie #ilovepie #birthdaypie

Goodreads

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,417 other followers

