Read-A-Thon

How much could you read if you had 24 hours straight to devote to reading a book or books? 
   
The Read-a-thon Returns! Beginning at 9 am Pacific Time (NOON for EST) on Saturday, June 28 and into Sunday, June 29, bloggers are committing to seeing how many pages they will devour and Reading is Fundamental will benefit!   Sounds fun, doesn’t it?

I’m helping out this year as a cheerleader.     Click here if you want to know more about being a cheerleader.

If you have signed up to read, I will be waving my pompons in your honor for one of the very early morning shifts near the end.   Dewey at The Hidden SIde of a Leaf is organizer central if you would like to know more.

I have never been a part of a Read-A-Thon, virtual or otherwise.   If you have, please let me know what you got out of the experience or leave a link to your own post.   Eva of A Striped Armchair already has a few posts on why she loves Read-A-Thons.    Even if you are not participating, Eva has compiled an impressive list of books to recommend, sorted by category:  Books To Keep You Up At Night

Let me know if you are participating this year in any way.   

Let me know what fun things you may be doing if you are NOT participating this year.  

Go Readers!  You Can DO It!!     

 

5 Responses to “Read-A-Thon”


  1. 1 lisamm June 17, 2008 at 8:18 am

    I’ll be camping with my youngest daughter and her girl scout troop at a local amusement park then spending all day at the park. No reading allowed!!

    Good luck to the particapnts! Rah, rah, rah!

  2. 2 bkclubcare June 17, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Sis boom bah! Lisa, have fun camping; may you enjoy incredible weather, tolerable giggling, and thrilling roller coaster rides.

  3. 3 Melody June 17, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    I wish I could participate but with my 4-yr-old girl around, it’s hard to read and logon at the same time!!

    Good luck to the participants!!! :)

  4. 4 thekoolaidmom June 17, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    This, of course, would require me to turn my computer off? >eek< Coincidentally, the end date on this read-a-thon (June 29) is my birthday.

    I have never participated in any read-a-thon, and 24 hours straight sound very challenging. How would you prepare, coffee, donuts and amphetamines maybe? (Okay, okay… leave out the donuts.) I would have to stand half the time to keep from falling asleep.

    I might giver her a go… can I play books on tape while “Sleep learning”?

  5. 5 bkclubcare June 18, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Melody – I hope you can check in on it – I’m basically very curious how all these people can read and still bother logging on and blog a bit! We’ll see, I guess.

    thekoolaidmom – I think books on tape would work – but how do you count pages with an audiobook? not a big deal, I suppose…


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

Twitter Updates

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

