The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

Thoughts tmjofetbykd The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo, Candlewick Press 2006, 200 pages

I read this because a friend in my Instructional Design course was going to write a technology integrated reading comprehension lesson unit based on this story — unfortunately, she had to scrap the idea and eventually worked on a math assignment, instead. But the point is, I was hooked by her description of the tale. I decided my Illinois N&N would like it as an Easter present so I bought this tkdcc collection for them. First, I had to read the book about Edward the Rabbit and his journey. I didn’t end up reading the other three stories – maybe another time.

This is lovely. DiCamillo can write. She can really warm you up to a character, take you along on the adventures and set you up to feel ALL THE FEELINGS, as somebody here in book-bloggerland has so eloquently stated. I cried. In a good way; the way a good book makes one have a good cry. It’s possible that the stress of schoolwork contributed to that good cry so let’s hope it was cathartic.

I loved this book and rate it 5 slices of pie. But maybe not rabbit pie.

 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
6 Responses to “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane”


  1. 1 BermudaOnion April 21, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    A good book cry is wonderful from time to time!

  2. 3 Melissa April 22, 2014 at 10:46 am

    I want to read this or her book The Magician’s Elephant during the readathon on Saturday!

  3. 5 Jenny @ Reading the End April 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    I still haven’t read anything by Kate DiCamillo! I swear I will rectify that soon.

    • 6 Care April 23, 2014 at 9:57 am

      I can’t recall if I’ve really read Because of Winn Dixie or only viewed the movie but I really enjoyed Tale of Desperaux, too. I would say start with this one. :D


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

Tried to capture a very cute pic of the pups sleeping but Oscar awoke and moved when I got my phone out.

Goodreads

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

