Films: Brideshead Revisited

The Film(s):  Brideshead Revisited.

The Book: Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. My book review here.

EXTRA CREDIT for THE CLASSICS CHALLENGE

I watched two film versions of Brideshead Revisited, though how many minutes I actually viewed could be debated. What is skimming called when applied to visual viewing?

I first watched the most recent one: fbr2008 2008

I thought this well-cast. Of course, Emma Thomson was great. The film evoked the same mood of the book. It was visually stunning – as the wealth of that era might suggest it should.

Then I rented the mulit-CD mini-series from the library: fbr1981 1981

and really liked this Sebastian Flyte! Another ‘of course’ for Jeremy Irons doing a fabulous job.

Now that it has been months since the viewing experience, I can’t think of more to add. Can’t say it was a favorite book but I ‘get’ how this might be considered a classic, especially the exploration of many deep themes. A book that most possibly could be interpreted on many levels for those intellectual (geeky?) enough to enjoy the process. Religion, sexuality, family duty, etc. Did the movies make me want to re-read it? No. Not that they weren’t acceptable adaptions, but no. I’ve seen enough of it now.

OK, this concludes my ‘extra’ credit for participation in the Classics Challenge! Yay, me.

As for my next book-to-film, I am scheduled to see The Book Thief soon and I really do want to see Catching Fire and Divergent. So many movies based on novels that I hope to see someday. Which one are you most excited about? Noah, anyone? The Fault in Our Stars?! Gone Girl or Dark Places, Unbroken!, The Giver, Wild (did you know A Walk in the Woods is also being worked on?), If I Stay, ahhhhh: Therese Raquin. And books I still need to read first: Serena, This is Where I Leave You (of course:  Jason Bateman), Far From the Madding Crowd, A Book of Common Prayer, and not sure about Devil’s Knot (scary). So many!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 Responses to “Films: Brideshead Revisited”


  1. 1 trish422 April 14, 2014 at 11:41 am

    The idea of “skimming” a film is giving me the heebeejeebies; I can’t skim books either, but films seem especially bad. I’m not sure if I should applaud you or admonish you. :)

    • 2 Care April 14, 2014 at 2:08 pm

      Oh, sorry! Admonish away, I can take it. If I had been leisurely enjoying this on the big screen in my comfy chair, maybe. But I had to play on my laptop – still not of the kind to sit and watch movies on my lil devices, I guess. That and oh-yea, grad school stresses…

  2. 3 Jeanne April 14, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    I might have to find the Emma Thompson version of this one.
    My daughter and I watched Catching Fire and Divergent. They were both pretty good movies, but we’re not planning to go to any more of the Divergent movie series–one was enough.
    I’m afraid to go see The Fault in Our Stars. I don’t like to cry in public.

    • 4 Care April 14, 2014 at 7:23 pm

      Oh I so rarely get to the cinema… I don’t mind crying in public. Especially at a movie where EVERYONE will be crying! I’m trying to think of the last movie in a theater that made me cry. Hmmm, it’s been a long time.

  3. 5 Trish April 15, 2014 at 11:15 am

    SO many books! I saw The Book Thief and liked it but of course it didn’t compare to the book, which I adore. I have Serena on my Nook and should read it–is Naomi Watts in that one? I’ll be curious to see Wild. I’m not sure about The Fault in Our Stars. We so rarely go see movies these days that I’ll probably eventually watch that one on Netflix or something. Same with Catching Fire and Divergent.

    I have NO idea what Brideshead Revisited is about!

  4. 7 lakesidemusing April 15, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    This is Where I Leave You is going to be a movie?! I haven’t laughed that hard at a book in years…

    • 8 Care April 15, 2014 at 1:20 pm

      I haven’t read it yet but what I remember of any reviews is that Bateman will fit right in the title role? I could be wrong. I do want to read this. Maybe I’ll sug for bookclub…

  5. 9 Bookfool, aka Nancy April 17, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    I’m most looking forward to Divergent and If I Stay. Loved both of those books.

    I haven’t seen the Emma Thompson version of Brideshead Revisited. Loved the 1981 version and the book. I went a little out of my way to see the Mercury fountain when I was in Oxford (husband was working; I got to play). And, that was the moment my camera broke. But I got to see where whatshisface was dipped in Mercury, so I was happy. :)

    I can’t bear to watch movies on a computer screen. It’s TV or bust, except for live streaming of Downton during Season 2. That was worth the hard chair.

  6. 11 Melissa April 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

    So I have such a crush on the guy who played the lead in the 2008 Brideshead Revisited, so I think that was my favorite part of the movie : ) I had no idea A Walk in the Woods was being made into a movie. I loevd the Hunger Games movies (1st and 2nd) and I’m excited for the next one. So many good movies!

    • 12 Care April 18, 2014 at 1:22 pm

      Matthew Goode? Did you see Match Point?

      Honestly, have been so busy that I feel guilty watching a movie anymore. And with the weather getting nicer, it might be next fall before I catch up and by then, there’s a whole new crop of must see films!

  7. 13 Sheila (Book Journey) April 18, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    I have never read…. or viewed….. (or skimmed) this one… am I missing out?

    • 14 Care April 18, 2014 at 1:19 pm

      Do you love to study deep philosophical religious ambiguities? Do you enjoy British Literature that explores the time frame of Between-the-Wars? Do you have an interest in understanding the works and motivations of Author Evelyn Waugh? If you answered YES to all three of these questions, then you must read this book.

  8. 15 litandlife April 25, 2014 at 12:40 am

    I can’t wait for Serena – loved that book! I have never read Brideshead but it’s been on my nightstand for years because any day now it will be the next book I’m going to pick up.

    • 16 Care April 26, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      I missed Serena – did it make the book-blog-circuit and I missed it? I only noticed it on another of the ‘movies based on books’ posts or maybe it was one talking about Jennifer Lawrence.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,511 other followers

Twitter Updates

Good bye, NevA DulMo! Til next year...

Goodreads

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,511 other followers

