The Sign of Four

Thoughts tsofbysacd The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, BBC Digital 2012 (orig. 1890) 224 pages, eBook/Kindle

Classics Challenge | A Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

What’s it ABOUT: Missing treasure!

What did I NOT know before reading this? That our boy Sherlock is a drug addict? Huh.

What DID I know before reading this? That Robert Downey, Jr. plays Sherlock in the (very enjoyable) movies. Did the movies not explore the cocaine use or did I just miss that?

Sadly, for some reason, I didn’t envision RDJ when I was reading the Sherlock parts but I did see Jude Law as Watson.

I have never watched the BBC versions with the guys you see on the cover above.

I have recently seen pieces of The Hobbit starring Martin Freeman.

Because it was on HBO the other day.

I have only ever watched the other guy in one of the Star Trek movies.

I think he’s rather creepy looking.

I may never read another Sherlock Holmes book; it was only OK. I don’t think I am much of a mystery-thriller genre reader.

I thought this ended very abruptly.

I did love the chase scene with the dog.

RATING: Three slices of pie.

This concludes my attempt at a review.

Any questions?
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

16 Responses to “The Sign of Four”


  1. 1 Jeanne March 29, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I loved reading the Sherlock Holmes stories so much that I saved the last one for a few weeks, so I still had one more to look forward to for a while. So maybe you won’t react as I do, but I think the BBC Sherlock series with Benedict Cumberbatch is brilliant. I love it. We own the DVDs and watch them over and over.

  2. 3 litandlife March 29, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    I didn’t know that about Sherlock, either, until I started watching the tv show Elementary where Sherlock is a recovering addict.

  3. 5 trish422 March 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

    I’ve heard wonderful things about the BBC Sherlock show, but who has time for tv these days? I can’t currently remember the name, but I have read a modern Sherlockian book that was wonderful. Cumberbatch is creepy and sexy simultaneously to me.

  4. 7 Kailana March 31, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I was reading Sherlock Holmes, but stalled. I read this one… Not sure where I ended up in my reading!

  5. 9 Jenny @ Reading the End March 31, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    I can’t remember where I picked up the information that Sherlock Holmes is a drug addict. Maybe it’s mentioned in The Hound of the Baskervilles? If not, I must have picked it up from the ether, because I’ve never read a single Sherlock Holmes anything apart from that book!

  6. 10 stacybuckeye April 1, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    I’ve never read Sherlock Holmes either but did watch a 1976 movie (The Seven Percent Solution) where Holmes was a raving coke-head. I was surprised too!

  7. 11 Ti April 1, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    I haven’t given the books much thought and I guess, the movies aren’t all that appealing either since I have yet to see one. I love RDJ in most things but I have a hard time seeing him as Holmes.

  8. 13 Melissa April 1, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    I love this book, it’s my favorite of the Sherlock novels. If you weren’t a fan of this one I would skip the others.

  9. 14 Jessica April 2, 2014 at 1:01 am

    I recently read THE HOUSE OF THE BASKERVILLES and came away with kind of the same feeling of “it’s not really my cup of tea, but I can see why the people like them so much.” I think I will give another story or two a shot to see if one works for me better than the others. Maybe this one next, perhaps?

  10. 15 Becca Lostinbooks April 5, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    You’ve just reminded me that I was gonna read more Sherlock stories. Last year. I think I read one. *facepalm* I am so easily distracted. Oh, look a shiny book over here and over there and over here and over…

  11. 16 Bookfool, aka Nancy April 17, 2014 at 11:07 pm

    I read a couple Sherlock stories a long, long time ago and don’t recall anything about him being a drug addict. But, it’s been an awfully long time. Kiddo has read absolutely every Sherlock story and some of Doyle’s other works, as well. He’s my 19th-century lit addict.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Fun mail!

Goodreads

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

