How To Be an American Housewife

Thoughts htbaahbymd How To Be an American Housewife by Margaret Dilloway, Putnam Adult 2010, 288 pages

AUDIOBOOK. Tantor Audio 2010, Narrated by: Laural Merlington, Emily Durante; 7 hours, 49 minutes

For THE BOOKIES, my IRL book club

What’s it ABOUT: A Japanese girl realizes that her one chance to get out and possibly live an exciting life will be to marry one of the American soldiers occupying Japan at the close of WW2. She looks back on her life, her secrets, her reality compared to her expectations and convinces her daughter and grandaughter to visit Japan and meet her family.

Wow, can you tell I didn’t really get into this one? That description seems pretty lackluster. It was an interesting story based partly on the history of Dilloway’s own mother and heritage. I thought some of the passages and ‘advice’ from the fictional guide to being a housewife that setup the chapters to be a bit preposterous but hey – what do I know?

I have no complaints, narration was fine – actually, I didn’t even realize it was two different people until I prepped this post so my being amazed at being able to do the voices is now altered; not so amazing, that, anymore. But still, the audiobook was well-done; easy to follow along.

I’m sure we will find much to talk about Friday at club. Mother-daughter relationships? loneliness? cultural identities? US-Japan diplomacy? How to grow into love?  The author provides a few thoughtful questions on her blog’s Reader Guide.

Meg at her blog Write Meg! LOVED it! Read her review here.  LiterateHousewife found it to be ‘a satisfying read.’ Click here to read her thoughts and find links to many other reviews.

Rating:  Three slices of pie. (Remember THREE STARS = “I liked it.” No one better say ‘sorry this wasn’t better for you’ because it was just fine. ok?)

 

 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

 

11 Responses to “How To Be an American Housewife”


  1. 1 BermudaOnion March 26, 2014 at 10:12 am

    One of my neighbors read this and felt pretty much the same way you did.

    • 2 Care March 26, 2014 at 10:30 am

      So far, I think everyone in the club has liked it, some more than others. Of course, it’s always more fun if someone intensely dislikes a book, too. :)

  2. 3 Ti March 26, 2014 at 10:45 am

    This is one of those books that is good to discuss but sort of hohum to read. I had no desire to read it when it first came out, and I still don’t.

    BUT, you have been reading quite a bit haven’t you? I have been too. But I a not writing up the reviews quickly so it’s all getting backlogged.

    • 4 Care March 26, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      Ah, do not confuse lots of review posts with actual reading getting done! I’m actually attacking the backlog and have read very little lately. :)
      Since bookclub is in a few days, I wanted to get this one out. But I still have books to chat about that I finished on vacation 3 weeks ago. (in other words, I’m not going in order – eek!)

  3. 5 Jenny @ Reading the End March 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    Sorry this wasn’t better for you!

    (Is there an emoticon that denotes devilish mischief eyes? That is the emoticon I would like to include here.)

    • 6 Care March 27, 2014 at 7:32 am

      Mutinous insurgency will not be tolerated. Unless you didn’t really mean it, of course. I bet there is an emoticon for what you are looking for but it’s on my phone and I don’t know how to do it on the laptop,

  4. 7 trish422 March 27, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    Can I say “sorry this wasn’t better for you” just to be snarky? :) I toyed with reading this one when so many were posting about it, but it just didn’t sound like my cup of tea; in other words, it sounded too much like a cup of tea.

    • 8 Care March 28, 2014 at 8:14 am

      Sure, go ahead and be snarky. I wish I could remember what the other books up for club but I don’t. I don’t think I was excited about any of them. :( I wonder who has choice – I better go look! Hope it’s not me.

  5. 9 stacybuckeye April 1, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    This is not for me (especially since it wasn’t good for you ;)).

  6. 10 bybee April 1, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    oh crud, I kind of had hopes for this one.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

Shark Week Baby!! @abbeyshea

Goodreads

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

