The Goldfinch

The Goldfinch tgbydt by Donna Tartt, Little,Brown 2013, 771 pages (Kindle eBook)

Chance makes the thief.

What can one say? What everyone else is saying!

COMPELLING. Easy to fall into and get swept away, not wanting life to intrude and disrupt the story.

DICKENSIAN. Yea, OK. Poor little orphan boy grows up and meets interesting characters.

All centered around a painting acquired in a most unusual fashion (via a diversion being a terrorist bombing) by a kid who then knows not what to do with it nor whom to trust. Exquisitely painted (the painting AND this novel), chock-full of swings in temperature, attitude and social situations. A messy life sprinkled with meanness and kindness, confusion and love.

Worry! What a waste of time! All the holy books were right. Clearly ‘worry’ was the mark of a primitive and spiritually unevolved person. … Why did anyone ever worry about anything? Weren’t we, as sentient beings, put upon the earth to be happy, in the brief time allotted to us?

I thank LitLove for her post on the author which gave me my first reason I had for wanting to read this and I thank Vasilly and Athira for hosting an informal readalong at the end of the year.  I thank Holly for the enthusiastic discussion over coffee about which character we liked best:  Theo, Boris, Hobie, and finally, the little fearless bird chained to a shelf. FASCINATING.

TEAM HOBIE!

Maybe the one had to be lost for the others to be found.

Four strong bold crazy slices of pie. fourpie

 

I HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
30 Responses to “The Goldfinch”


  1. 1 Jeanne January 7, 2014 at 8:38 am

    I got this book for Christmas, but with all the traveling, haven’t had a chance to crack it. Sounds like the next few weeks, with classes starting, is not the time. I’ll have to reserve a weekend for it.

  2. 3 Michelle January 7, 2014 at 9:09 am

    I feel like I am the only person who received an ARC last year but still have not read it. At this point in time, I almost want to wait until the accolades die off a bit, and then read it without feeling pressure to love it as much as everyone else.

    • 4 Care January 7, 2014 at 9:34 am

      I think that is another reason I jumped into it – wanted to read it before I got sick of seeing it everywhere! Go ahead and wait. It will be there for you. :)

  3. 5 Sheila (Book Journey) January 7, 2014 at 9:21 am

    I have to dig into this one but the audio is soooooo long it makes me nervous ;)

    • 6 Care January 7, 2014 at 9:34 am

      I LOOOOOOOVVVVEEE long audio books! I usually don’t think they are worth the money if less than 20 hours long. Crazy, huh. But I started audiobooking with King books so I it is my go-to way to slog through a chunkster.

  4. 7 Brooke January 7, 2014 at 10:03 am

    Team Hobie all the way!!

  5. 9 Melissa January 7, 2014 at 10:31 am

    I got this on kindle and haven’t read it yet. I can’t wait to dive into it.

  6. 11 Kailana January 7, 2014 at 11:24 am

    I probably will buy this eventually, but it is so big and I don’t read THAT many chunksters a year… A bunch of my Christmas books were huge, so probably best if I wait. :)

  7. 13 BermudaOnion January 7, 2014 at 11:50 am

    I haven’t read enough Dickens to get that correlation but I still loved the book.

    • 14 Care January 7, 2014 at 5:19 pm

      Ha! That’s OK – not totally sure myself, actually. I think it is because Dickens has featured poor orphans who meet rich people in his books – thinking Great Expectations. Not really sure how many other of his books do. A minor story line of Bleak House, maybe.
      An interview of Tartt has her discuss the Dickensian themes (not that I recall exactly what she said!) and it is often brought up in other reviews.
      (I just like to say ‘Dickensian’. ha!)

  8. 15 Fleur in her World January 7, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    I’m struggling with part two, but your enthusiasm gives me hope. Thank you!

  9. 17 diane January 7, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Hi Care, I’m about 40% of the way through. Loving it!

  10. 19 Heather January 8, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I love Hobie so much. This is easily one of the best books I read in 2013. I never even thought about it being Dickensian, but duh, Heather. Heh.

  11. 21 Belle Wong January 8, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    This one is my next read, after I finish The Ghost Map. I’m really looking forward to it!

  12. 22 Jenny @ Reading the End January 8, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    YAY. YAY. Glad you liked it, Care! The correct team IS actually Team Boris, but I will accept Team Hobie as well. I GUESS.

  13. 26 Lu January 9, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I am also Team Hobie!

    • 27 Care January 10, 2014 at 8:25 am

      That tweet I sent? I estimated that was a sentence at the point of your last goodreads/tweet update. What struck me was that I imagined Mrs. Barbour wearing green so that sentence was SO at odds with my image of her!

  14. 28 stacybuckeye January 9, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    I think this is a must read for me this year. Everyone seems to love it!

  15. 30 Lisa January 25, 2014 at 11:10 am

    Cannot wait to read this with my book club in March/April. I so hope they enjoy it and don’t give up on it so I have someone to discuss it with!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,414 other followers

Twitter Updates

#carespieshow #applepie #ilovepie #birthdaypie

Goodreads

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,414 other followers

