We Are Water

Thoughts wawbywl We Are Water by Wally Lamb, ebook HarperCollins 2013, 559 pages.

I didn’t like it. I couldn’t connect to the characters. I was not at all wowed by the writing like I had hoped and expected to be since so many people love Wally Lamb. I’m sad that I didn’t try She’s Come Undone first because I’m seriously doubting I ever will.

This was a book club book. We meet Friday.

I really hope it is just me. I am quite persnickety and hyper-critical sometimes. I’m even jumping all over Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch (I’m about 13% in – going to push through and complete this by the end of the year.)

So, please. Do not take my word for it! Let Lisa of Lit & Life, a blogger I respect and usually agree with, tell you that she liked it very much. Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea says, “…although it digs deep into the darker side of humans, it’s a story that is uplifting as well.” Matt at A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook claims it is ..”.a compulsively readable novel that captures the essence of human experience.”

The book cover at the top will take you to goodreads.com where you will find out more about the book and see that it has garnered a 3.91 out of 5.0 with 4058 ratings. That is pretty high.

I do think the cover is nice.

Should I give Mr. Lamb another try? I own a paperback of She’s Come Undone. I’ve had it for years.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 Responses to “We Are Water”


  1. 1 Bookfool, aka Nancy December 23, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    I’ve heard it’s not his best and you shouldn’t give up on him. Have never read Wally Lamb, though.

    • 2 Care December 23, 2013 at 2:16 pm

      I really feel bad but I just got bored and really didn’t want to keep reading but it was for book club, yaknow? Sigh… I will have to put some distance between this and SCU, I think.

  2. 3 Ann@BooksontheTable December 23, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Care, one of my colleagues at the bookstore had the same reaction you did. That’s why I haven’t read it. I did enjoy She’s Come Undone.

  3. 4 Ruthiella December 23, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    I liked both She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much is True. Although the main character in She’s Come Undone is hard to like sometimes…she makes some pretty bad decisions and sometimes I wanted to slap her.

    I say take a break and then apply the 50 page rule later. Mr. Lamb deserves one more chance.

  4. 5 lakesidemusing December 23, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    I’ve loved all of Lamb’s books and have been discouraged by several negative reviews of We Are Water, but still plan to give it a try. Hope you’ll give the author another chance.

  5. 6 aartichapati December 23, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    I have a book by Wally Lamb, but it isn’t a novel – it’s a series of essays by women in prison, I think. I thought it sounded quite interesting. I haven’t read it yet. One day :-)

    That said, it’s ok to not like a book that everyone else likes! I am starting NW by Zadie Smith next and I am nervous I won’t like that. Also, I just finished Noughts & Crosses which I was pretty blah about. I feel like I have been blah about many books lately. I want to end the year on a positive note!

  6. 8 BermudaOnion December 23, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    This one’s not getting great reviews which I hate because I love Wally Lamb. Oh well, every book can’t be a winner.

  7. 9 Heather December 23, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    I liked it, but it’s definitely not at the usual Wally-Lamb-level. I was a little disappointed in it, actually, even though I read it quickly and liked it for the most part.

    Why was Annie blamed for absolutely EVERYTHING that was wrong with their family?

    Why did Orion have the most annoying savior complex EVER?

    Some parts of it just went on and on and on, and probably should have been edited. It could have been shorter and just as good…or better.

    I didn’t dislike it, but it wasn’t up to Lamb’s usual standards. Sigh.

  8. 10 Ti December 24, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I usually like Lamb’s writing so I am hoping to like this one. I was so excited when I received the ARC but I felt into my funk and then it never got read. I do plan to read it soon though. I’ll buzz you when I do so we can compare notes.

  9. 12 Stacey January 11, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    I’m about half way through We Are Water and I am REALLY enjoying it! You just need to get past the first chapter which reads a bit pretentiously. This Much I Know Is True by Wally Lamb is in my top ten books OF ALL TIMES so I highly recommend it. Try She’s Come Undone as well . . .

  10. 14 litandlife January 12, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    It’s so hard to like any of the characters in this book which does make it hard to like the book. And it’s such an odd book, I don’t even know that I know who I would recommend it to. But you’re right, I did like it.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,491 other followers

Twitter Updates

Oscar #OscartheGriff

Goodreads

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,491 other followers

