The Orchardist

Thoughts tobyac The Orchardist by Amanda Copley, Harper Collins 2012, 432 pages

First Sentence: His face was as pitted as the moon.

I very much enjoyed this book. I loved the entire sense of place and I fell hard for the characterization.

My kind of read.

Rating: Five slices of pie. Fruit pie, of course! Apple pie, apricot pie; take your pick. Or how about an Apricot Pluot Galette?

{I would have a photo here but for some reason, when I try to go find the photo, it is not showing me the true Last-Import set of photos and I can’t figure out what’s going on.  I suspect I have too many photos and the system is refusing to work right. If you follow me on Instagram, you saw it…}

{{Obviously, I am more in the mood to post somethingANYTHING than actually spend time thoughtfully choosing the right words. But then I went back and glanced at my little observations that I recorded in goodreads (my fave thing about goodreads – truly) and thought I would expound some more.

Here’s a quote:  “We all have to be pushed, he thought. It doesn’t end.”

It reminds me of how when I was a kid, I thought adults had it all figured out. Now that I’m an adult well into my ‘approaching-fifty’ years, I realize NOPE, we adults don’t necessarily have it figured out. Or maybe that there are three kinds of people (there’s always three, have you noticed?) and these three types are 1) those that got it figured out, 2) those that think they have it figured out and you know they really don’t, and 3) the rest that readily admit, they don’t really know what to figure out. But still. I keep waiting for that time when I can say I’m ‘there’. I suspect, I will never and maybe that’s just ok.}}

 

I best go figure out if Mac’s photo program has a max storage limit and maybe off-load some of my photos. I’ve even got print copies of most but I’m so scared to delete them!  and what with the prolific nature of the iPhone, I have scad loads of photos I really don’t need.

July 22 is Pi Approximation Day. FYI

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 Responses to “The Orchardist”


  1. 1 BermudaOnion July 8, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    I started this on audio and didn’t care for the narrator so I set it aside. It sounds like I need to try it in print.

  2. 3 Lisa July 8, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    I got so attached to these characters!

  3. 5 Laurie C July 8, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    I’ve seen other rave reviews of this book, but yours is the most convincing. I can’t seem to get past the book’s very boring title and cover!

    • 6 Care July 9, 2013 at 7:27 am

      It’s a thinky thoughtful story. Some say it is ‘quiet’ but plenty does happen – it’s turmoil of the mind and contemplating choices. It was NOT boring!

  4. 7 Melissa July 9, 2013 at 9:56 am

    I love books with a great atmosphere. Also, I just checked my library and they have Alias Grace. I just downloaded the ebook to my kindle! I do love Atwood and that one has been on my list for awhile.

  5. 9 Ti July 9, 2013 at 10:15 am

    I know I will read this one at some point. I like the break down of the three types you did. Very true.

  6. 11 Heather July 9, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I loved this book, too.

  7. 13 Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader July 9, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Another book that I’ve been meaning to get to. It never ends does it? ;)

  8. 14 Leeswammes July 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Glad you enjoyed this, Care. I just knew this was the sort of book for you!

  9. 15 Trish July 12, 2013 at 8:50 am

    This made me chuckle as I know that feeling oh so well: “Obviously, I am more in the mood to post something ANYTHING than actually spend time thoughtfully choosing the right words.” Plus I hate actually talking about the book itself. ;)

    I THINK I picked this one up at a book sale not too long ago but I’ll have to double check. I have been hearing fantastic things about it so I want to get to it eventually. Mmmm pie.

  10. 16 aartichapati July 12, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    I read one of those “you know you’re X when…” lists recently and it was “You know you’re 30 when…” and one of the things was about how you realize your parents were your age or younger when they were raising you so you cut them a bit of slack . And I think that’s one thing no one ever tells you as you get older – you realize just how NOT together adults are.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,417 other followers

Twitter Updates

#carespieshow #applepie #ilovepie #birthdaypie

Goodreads

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,417 other followers

