Copley in Amsterdam

IMG_1728

The highlight of Copley’s visit?  Meeting Judith!  Judith of Leeswammes’ Blog:  Books, Books, and Books

IMG_1731

She has a great photo of Copley sitting atop a few books…  She gave me The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin (I was MOST excited for this – what a treat!) and First You Try Everything by Jane McCafferty which we joked might be perfect for my celebrating my 25th wedding anniversary this year. I gave her Stewart O’Nan’s Songs for the MissingI haven’t actually read this myself but have been meaning to for years now. Anything by O’Nan, truthfully. I have another copy so I’m trying to set up a readalong. Anyone else interested?

After the yummiest risotto, we had pie; a lemon pie along the type of a key lime from Florida. IMG_1735

We talked a lot about books, as you might expect. And we talked about biscuits and other interesting cultural differences. But mostly about books.

And when the boys were let out from work meetings, we toured.

IMG_1679 View from our room at the Moevenpick Hotel, looking mostly northwest. IMG_1680 View lookingsouthwest? IMG_1683 Amsterdam Station.IMG_1690 Canal scene. IMG_1693 Street scene. IMG_1697 A lovely canal street cafe scene.IMG_1716 The famous Seven Bridges shot. IMG_1726 We had dinner at the restaurant on the top of this old oil rig. IMG_1754 Watch out for the bicycles! IMG_1769 The Flower Market. IMG_1776 The Rijksmuseum. IMG_1780 Where we saw this famous Rembrandt painting The Nightwatch.  IMG_1789 An Old Amsterdam Sandwich (featuring rocket and cornichons but I think it had a different spelling… Means pickles. Rocket is arugula.) IMG_1800 At the Heineken Experience. IMG_1812 A mosiac sofa.

And HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
15 Responses to “Copley in Amsterdam”


  1. 1 Ana @ things mean a lot July 3, 2013 at 5:56 am

    Aww. Look at him, all grown up and having adventures.

  2. 2 Leeswammes July 3, 2013 at 8:36 am

    It was great to meet you and the food was good, wasn’t it? I love the pictures, you saw a lot of Amsterdam! You didn’t take a picture of the bicycle garage near the station? Did you notice it? Several floors of bicyle parking in one building.

    Anyway, the lemon pie was good indeed and I’m looking forward to reading your book. Do let me know when you want to read it. I’m fine with late July or August.

  3. 4 Melissa July 3, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Lucky Copley! He’s having all kinds of fun!

  4. 5 Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader July 3, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Copley is growing up ;) What a lovely visit!!

  5. 6 sagustocox July 3, 2013 at 11:01 am

    I love these photos you’ve been sharing and it sounds like you had a great time.

  6. 7 Ti July 3, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Amsterdam has such lovely architecture. I feel as if I am on vacation with you. These photos are great! I never go anywhere.

  7. 8 Bookfool, aka Nancy July 3, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Oooh, I didn’t know rocket is arugula! I had a lot of rocket this and that in London. Amsterdam looks beautiful and how cool that you got to meet Judith and hang out!

  8. 9 stacybuckeye July 3, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    What fun! I love reading about blogger meet ups :)

  9. 10 iliana July 4, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    How wonderful that you got to meet a book blog friend! That’s so cool!
    I’ve enjoyed looking at your pictures and they’ve brought me such great memories of my travels there several years ago.

  10. 11 Lisa July 5, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    What fun to get to meet up with an blogging friend from overseas! You really got to see a lot while you were there – what fun.

  11. 12 Ali (Worducopia) July 5, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Ah, Amsterdam–such a beautiful city. Looks like you were able to fit a lot in to your visit!

  12. 13 Trish July 5, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I love this!!! I’ve never been to Amsterdam and I’m not sure I will unless I go without Scott (and I just might!). So maybe next time you should get a bike and tour around that way? What a nice visit with Judith. I’ve only met a handful of bloggers and I always wonder if we’d talk about anything besides books!

  13. 14 Laurie C July 10, 2013 at 6:59 am

    I missed so many posts the week of the 4th, so I never saw this post or Judith’s about your visit to Amsterdam. What fun! Great photos! I didn’t realize rocket and arugula were the same thing.

  14. 15 Laurie C July 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    P.S. I would like to read Songs of the Missing or the lobster one by Stewart O’Nan.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Introducing Aurelia the Bernese mt (crazy) dog who is playing host to the Oscar & Esther Show for the next few (many) weeks. Did I mention she is exuberant?! Yikes...

Goodreads

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

