Dark Places

Thoughts dpbygf Dark Places by Gillian Flynn, Broadway Paperbacks 2009, 349 pages

First SENTENCE:  “I have a meanness inside of me, real as an organ.”

What’s it ABOUT:  A young woman who survived her family’s massacre almost 25 years prior decides to open up her memories and help investigate what really happened. She hasn’t wanted to think about any of it for a long, long time. But damn it – she needs the money. And the crime clubbers are offering to refill the empty coffers. She doesn’t work (can’t work, won’t work, what’s the difference) and she has spent the horde of cash she collected from the do-gooders who supplied it back when she was a sad poor cute victim survivor. She ain’t cute anymore.

“I signed my book for mouth-breathing kids who asked me jarring questions, like did my mom cook pies.”

Characters are lacking in much one might find admirable and yet we do somehow sympathize. Pacing is spot on, tension is physical, belief is suspended and disregarded. It’s dark inside these pages but don’t turn on the light cuz some scary too-many-legged thing might crawl out and I don’t want to see that.

Another wild ride in the Flynn mind amusement park. Not quite as wild as Gone Girl but still a thrill.

Rating: Four slices of pie, blackberry. fourpie

Stephen King is in the opening credits page of praise:

” Gillian Flynn is the real deal, a sharp, acerbic, and compelling storyteller with knack for the macabre.”

Thank you MBR for loaning me this book.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

16 Responses to “Dark Places”


  1. 1 jennygirl June 20, 2013 at 8:30 am

    Unsympathetic characters but still you must read on…that’s the sign of a fab writer. Thanks for the excellent review Care :)

  2. 3 BermudaOnion June 20, 2013 at 9:24 am

    I loved Gone Girl so really want to read this book.

    • 4 Care June 20, 2013 at 9:30 am

      And I am looking forward to getting to her debut. Seems I’m working backward. I wonder if she has a date already set to release her next? (I never know such things.)

  3. 5 Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader June 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

    Oooh, that first sentence says a lot doesn’t it? I’ve only read Gone Girl by Flynn. That was such a twisty ride that I’m more than willing to give this one a shot as well.

  4. 7 iliana June 20, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Haven’t read this one yet but it’s been on my list. She does know how to write unlikeable characters doesn’t she?

  5. 8 Ali (Worducopia) June 21, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    I have yet to read any Flynn, but just had to tell you that this is why I prefer LibraryThing to GoodReads–you can change the cover image. :-)

    • 9 Care June 21, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      Actually this is the first time this particular issue has ever popped up for me. I am a goodreads editor so I can fix things if I know they are wrong and I can add book covers, too. But since I don’t tend to keep books, I don’t think LT is for me.
      You gotta try Flynn if you like twists and fun awful characters!

  6. 10 Bookfool, aka Nancy June 21, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    I think I’m the only person on the planet who has no interest in this author’s books, although since you mentioned the Kansas City setting in your description, this one might be a good choice to start with. Someday. :) Have a great weekend!

  7. 12 Melissa June 21, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Gone Girl was so intense. My book club was actually discussing it last night and none of us had tried any of her other books. Sounds like they might be equally dark, but good!

  8. 13 stacybuckeye June 22, 2013 at 10:55 am

    I read her first and Gone Girl. Next time I need dark I know I can turn to her.

  9. 14 Laurie C June 25, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Hmmm. Crime clubbers… I was going to skip this one, as I’ve been doing for a while (I think I have a used copy kicking around somewhere) but now I may have to read it!

  10. 15 bybeebooks June 25, 2013 at 9:18 am

    I’d be attracted to Flynn’s books just because I like the dark and snark of her. Setting them all in MO is the bitter chocolate icing on the cake for me.

  11. 16 Lisa July 6, 2013 at 1:21 am

    I know I have this on one of my bookshelves. I’ve been thinking I should pull it out since reading Gone Girl but wasn’t sure I wanted to follow up too closely behind that one. Sounds like, even though you didn’t like this one as well, still it won’t disappoint.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

The Oscar and Esther Show to bring canine version of The Wizard of Oz to the stage. Happy Halloween

Goodreads

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

