Called to Coach

Thoughts ctcbybb Called to Coach: Reflections on LIfe, Faith, and Football by Bobby Bowden with Mark Schlabach, Howard Books – A Division of Simon & Schuster 2010, 276 pages. Autobiography/Nonfiction, Hardback.

 

May 28, 2013

Dear Coach Bowden,

Thank you for pursuing your dream to coach football and writing books about your life. Thank you for going on the lecture circuit where I would be able to have the chance to meet you and listen to your stories. I admire you.

I might not have said that during the years when Florida State was beating up on my Big 12 teams in bowl games, but I will say it now. Truthfully, the movie We Are Marshall opened my eyes to how great a man you are and not just – what I assumed – an arrogant coach of a football powerhouse. I humbly acknowledge that I have been too quick to judge and often make negative assumptions far too quickly and hold far too long.

I met you a few months ago in Florida when you came to speak at a dinner I attended with my husband. You were gracious and very funny. I was very impressed and was eager to read your book. I especially loved all the connections you shared with players and coaches from my school, Kansas State. But what I loved best were the stories about love and relationships, about your wife and your family, about your career goals and trusting in God to make your path known.

Wishing you all the best,

loveCare

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
4 Responses to “Called to Coach”


  1. 1 dastevensish May 28, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Never in a million years would I have imagined wanting to read this book. If I’m being honest, I guess I probably still won’t read it…but you really made me think that maybe I should with this letter. :)

  2. 3 bermudaonion(Kathy) May 28, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    Bowden is quite a character! I’m jealous that you got to meet him.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,492 other followers

Twitter Updates

Oscar #OscartheGriff

Goodreads

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,492 other followers

