The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Thoughts tpobawfbysc The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky, MTV Books and Pocket Books 1999, 213 pages

I read the eBook on my iPad with the Kindle app and the very next day, rented the movie. I thought the casting was very good. In fact, Charlie’s words in the book seemed too young for his intellect but the movie character was very believable.

I loved both.

Four slices of pie. fourpie

“I just wish that God or my parents or Sam or my sister or someone would just tell me what’s wrong with me. Just tell me how to be different in a way that makes sense. To make this all go away. And disappear. I know that’s wrong because it’s my responsibility, and I know that things get worse before they get better because that’s what my psychiatrist says, but this is a worse that feels too big.”  ~63% or page 141

jjjHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
30 Responses to “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”


  1. 1 Jennifer March 2, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I read this book for the first time recently. I wish I had read it years ago! I haven’t seen the movie yet but I really want to :)

  2. 3 Jeanne March 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    I liked the movie a lot better than the book. When I read the book, I wondered if Charlie was autistic or something, at first. The actor who played him made the character more comprehensible.
    Also, there’s a great Tumblr meme based on the feeling infinite line from this book.

  3. 5 bermudaonion(Kathy) March 2, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    I loved the movie so now I want to read the book.

  4. 7 Susan March 2, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    I really want to see the movie. I think it might be tonight – thanks for your lovely review for reminding it’s on my list of movies to see!

    • 8 Care March 3, 2013 at 7:11 am

      Oh good! You’re welcome.

      I could wonder about how all this came together for me – the timing, I mean. I don’t know what triggered me to get the eBook and then on vacation, the hotel had TOO MANY movies I wanted to see but this one was available. Serendipity, I guess.

  5. 9 Chris March 3, 2013 at 3:26 am

    I love this book with every ounce of my soul!!! I still haven’t seen the movie because I have this perfect vision of it in my head…but I have a feeling they probably did a good job with it so I’ll probably end up seeing it eventually :)

    • 10 Care March 3, 2013 at 7:10 am

      Chris, I am positive that you were one of the first to suggest this needed to be on my tbr. And that was long ago. And when I saw the movie being made, I knew I had to get it. I am really not sure what made me choose this February to read it, finally, but I was quite moved by it.
      I think you’ll be OK with the movie. Just make sure you are in a good mood, an accepting mood, right? But really, it was well done.

  6. 11 lakesidemusing March 3, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Why have I never read this book? I know there’s a copy around here somewhere…

  7. 14 Lisa March 3, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I started this one a couple of years ago and then got waylaid by review books. Time to get back to it – maybe I’ll read it with Miss H.

    • 15 Care March 3, 2013 at 11:47 am

      Which reminds me that I need to tell my niece that I finally got around to this.
      Hope you enjoy it – would be a great one for a buddy read – lots to discuss.

  8. 16 aartichapati March 3, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    I got this one from a banned books event but I haven’t read it yet. While I know everyone loves it, I feel like the whole drugs thing might turn me off. But maybe not! I shall never know until I try.

    • 17 Care March 4, 2013 at 9:55 am

      I can’t comment on that not ever thinking someone should or should not be sensitive to something, but imo, it wasn’t as casual or prominent – but I didn’t know to expect it, either. It was ‘there’. If that makes sense…

  9. 18 softdrink March 3, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    I read this last month and adored it. But have I writeen a post about it? Noooo.

  10. 19 softdrink March 3, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Last month as in January, because I still think it’s February.

  11. 21 Sheila (Book Journey) March 3, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    LOVED the book and bought the movie – so so so good!

  12. 23 Debi March 4, 2013 at 8:45 am

    I have got to read this book!!! That quote alone just sort of ripped my heart apart.

  13. 25 Ti March 4, 2013 at 10:46 am

    I read the book for book club after someone in our club had been pestering us to read it for years. It was really good and nothing like what I expected. We all loved it for various reasons and of course, there was oodles to discuss. I’ve not seen the movie though.

    • 26 Care March 4, 2013 at 10:50 am

      I enjoyed the movie despite them finding one more teenage angst to throw in that was missing from the book. Or I didn’t remember it, maybe it was in the book. Still, I enjoyed the movie and was inspired to do so when my favorite movie website was bemoaning that they didn’t get Oscar recognition.

  14. 27 Melissa March 6, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    The movie, the book, I loved them both too!

    • 28 Care March 7, 2013 at 11:48 am

      It was such a treat to be able to see these back to back. Sort of like I did with Bleak House which I need to write up. I have a movie backlog to see of books I read because I knew there was to be a movie…

  15. 29 stacybuckeye March 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    I want to read it and see it. I love the casting and I’ve heard only positive things about the book.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

#ilovepie

Goodreads

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

