Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Thoughts hp5byjkr Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Year Five at Hogwarts by J.K. Rowling, Arthur A. Levine Books – An Imprint of Scholastic Press 2003, 870 pages

After a 6 month hiatus, I am back to my quest to read the infamous Harry Potter series.

I don’t usually read series books.

If I get Books 6 & 7 read before the middle of June, I’ll have read the entire series within a year’s timeframe. I think that would be just swell.

I’m thinking of listening to the Sixth (aka Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince) because it has been whispered that the narrator of Jim Dale is excellent. So depending on availability and price and timing, I will hereby commit to the audiobook.

WHOA. I just opened my Audible account and I can’t find any Harry Potter’s available!  Ugh, that will mean listening-to-CDs-in-the-car will be my only option IF the library has it!  Not a big deal; it’s not quite lawn-mowing season anyway.

I already have the Seventh (and Final, aka Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) sitting on a shelf, thanks to Diane who has kindly lent it to me.

Even though I had a nice break of 6 months between #4 and #5, I am getting tired of Hogwarts and really tired of Harry’s poor me attitude. Especially when everyone is telling him that he is loved and cared for.

I don’t think I will be able to tell you which book is my favorite because I already can’t keep which adventure went with which year of Hogwarts. I can tell you that Book 2 and Book 5 will NOT be my faves but that does not mean I didn’t like them. I think it will be Book 3 as my favorite because we meet Sirius Black – is that right?  I think so. I gave it 4 stars. I gave book 4 the 4 star rating, too.

My T&Qs on Book 5; ready?

(Nobody reading this wants an S&C, am I right?!)

Hows-come we didn’t really get an explanation of Ms. Umbridge and what she was up to? She admits that she let loose a few dementors to Privet Drive and then it is never brought up again?  She didn’t strike me as a seriously strong enough witch to conjure up such power and authority. Sure she had a forceful personality but did she have magic skill? Was she on Voldemort’s side? Surely not, or she would have been up to even more no good, so I strike that question down. But what will happen to her?

Any theories how Dumbledore got her back from the forest?! and him without a scratch?

How come my WordPress spell checker doesn’t recognize the word ‘dementor’?  Given the phenomenon that is “Harry Potter”, and all.

It sure is convenient that HP’s adventures always start in the summer and get wrapped up by the end of the school year, huh?

Did Ms. Rowling have all this story (7 book worth of unlaying all the secrets) set up at the very beginning?  She has done a fine job, I will admit. For example, saving the explanation of the scar to Book 5.

Truly, this book’s Harry was most annoying with his anger and feeling sorry for himself. Makes me wonder if I will really be able to stand working with High Schoolers considering I’m certainly not near as smart as Albus Dumbledore.

I highlighted the following words (in my head) – ok, LIE. I added goodreads status updates for TITCHY (means TINY) and BUDGERIGAR (which is an Australian bird.) Come to think of it, I have heard the term ‘budgie’ for parakeet.

I counted at least FOUR mentions of pie. Shepherd’s Pie, Steak and Kidney Pie, Apple Pie and ‘cooked goblins in a pie‘.  pieratingsml

Ginny was my favorite character in Book 5. Is she in the movies?

I have no idea which movies of this series I’ve seen. I’m guessing it has only been 1 & 2.

OF COURSE, I will continue! *GRIN*

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
19 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”


  1. 1 Laurie C January 31, 2013 at 7:10 am

    I think Book 5 was my least favorite, if that’s the one with the looooonnng opening that’s not at Hogwart’s and has the three friends stranded in a forest sniping at each other for ages on end. ;)

  2. 3 Marie (@bostonbibliophl) January 31, 2013 at 7:10 am

    I admire you for taking this on. I’m probably never going to read the series- I started the first book and decided it wasn’t for me- so I’m glad you’re here to take the hit :-) <3

    • 4 Care January 31, 2013 at 7:19 am

      Sure thing, Dear. Maybe I was tired of people’s shocked reaction when I say “I’ve never read HP.” Now I can just nod when anyone brings it up.

      Actually, the original plan was to read this with my friend Holly but she didn’t care for book 1, either, and declared “NOT FOR ME”.

  3. 5 Jeanne January 31, 2013 at 7:12 am

    The Harry Potter books have bridged more of the gap between speaking American and speaking British English. A budgerigar is from Australia and has been bred with English parakeets to produce a slightly bigger, more robust pet bird. A lot of parakeets in pet stores are at least half budgie.

  4. 7 Laurie C January 31, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Or maybe just Harry and Ron in the forest?

  5. 9 Debi January 31, 2013 at 7:46 am

    *sigh* I did not read your entire post, because I haven’t made it that far in the series yet. Why I haven’t, I can’t say. I’m not one of those people who just has no interest. I do…I’ve enjoyed the hell out of the first three. Hubby’s reading them for the fourth and fifth times right now. (For the fourth time, by himself–he’s up to book 5, I think. And for the fifth, he just started reading them to Max a couple nights ago.) I’m just proud of myself that I’ve managed not to have them spoiled…but I really should get on with them as that certainly can’t last forever, right?

  6. 11 BermudaOnion January 31, 2013 at 7:59 am

    I loved this whole series. It’s been so long since I’ve read it, I can’t remember which books were my favorites.

  7. 13 Ali (Worducopia) January 31, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this series with my kids, but our experience took place over the course of years. As in, Ben was 6 or 7 when we started the series and there were only 4 published books in the series at that time. Then we started over (before the 5th book came out? Must have been right after) so that Evan could enjoy them, too.

    Oh, thank goodness for blogging because I know this would have eaten away at you (ok: at me): I just found on my personal blog that we started re-reading the series in the summer of 2006, and read books 2-6 that summer, then had a year-long break before the 7th book came out. So I guess we kind of did read the series in a single year! Except for the first book, which Evan refused to ever read.

  8. 15 Jenny January 31, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    I think a lot of people do not care for the fifth book and Harry’s attitude and whatnot. I see where they’re coming from, but I also feel like Harry has earned some anger. He can be angry if he wants to! His life has been like nonstop awful.

    ALSO. If you are going to read the audiobook of the sixth book, get the British version. I promise you’ll thank me. Stephen Fry narrates it, and he is the loveliest ever. Better than Jim Dale. I have heard both. Stephen Fry is better by like, a lot.

  9. 17 Melissa February 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Harry is a bit of a brat in this one. I love Ginny too. Book 6 and 7 get even better, so stick with them. I will say that I was continually impressed by JK’s ability to weave the books together in a seamless plot. It really seemed like she had the whole thing plotted out from the beginning.

  10. 19 samstillreading February 2, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    My first budgie was called Budgerigar, but I rarely hear people use the term!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Whiskey Sour. A REAL whiskey sour. SO good

Goodreads

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

