Announcing Song of Achilles Readalong #AchilleSong

Up for a flexible informal readalong, Anyone?

tsoabymm2

One of the tweeples I follow has expressed interest in reading The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. So I thought I would open it up to anyone else who might be interested in this (from what I hear) beautifully written interpretation of one of the stories in The Illiad.

We’ll be tweeting with hashtag #AchilleSong.

We don’t yet have a start date nor time frame – we are being FLEXIBLE. Flexibility is in order because Sharlene is in line to get the book from the library and we don’t really have any way to expect WHEN it will be available.

So, if you want to read this book and don’t mind the vague details of a readalong plan and could possibly start at a moment’s notice, then JOIN US!  We’re hoping sometime in February but it might be later.

tsoabymm

Last October, I attended a Boston Book Fest 2012 session featuring the author and a Harvard professor chatting about this book and I am really excited to see what is about. Maybe then I will have the courage to attempt The Illiad itself.

Leave a comment here or tweet at me @BkClubCare if you are interested and I’ll start a list.  Or watch the hashtag in Twitterville. If you don’t tweet and even if you don’t have a blog, you can always join the discussion here at Care’s Online Book Club. All are welcome.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
25 Responses to “Announcing Song of Achilles Readalong #AchilleSong”


  1. 1 rhapsodyinbooks January 28, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Okay fine fine I’ll be in

  2. 2 rhapsodyinbooks January 28, 2013 at 7:19 am

    p.s. do we get a clown nose equivalent? a spear perhaps?

  3. 4 Mary January 28, 2013 at 7:24 am

    I’d like to join if time allows so I’ll watch for the hashtag!

  4. 6 sakura January 28, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I’m so happy you are doing this. I read this last year for my book group and it was my favourite book of the year. Enjoy everyone!

  5. 8 susanbright January 28, 2013 at 9:09 am

    I heard Madeline Miller talk about The Song of Achilles at our Baltimore Book Festival. Our book club read it with very mixed reviews. I loved this book yet there were a few people who didn’t even bother finishing it! I guess that is what makes Book clubs so interesting!

    • 9 Care January 28, 2013 at 1:11 pm

      You do have a large book club. I’m sure you often have books that have conflicting reviews. And yes, discussions are more fun when the book is not universally loved and gushed over.

  6. 10 Jeanne January 28, 2013 at 9:26 am

    I’m interested in this book, so I’ll try one of my (usually mis-timed) attempts to read along. #doesn’tplaywellwithothers

  7. 13 Words for Worms January 28, 2013 at 10:38 am

    I’ve already read this, but I really really liked it so I might throw my 2 cents in when I see the hashtag!

  8. 15 Ali (Worducopia) January 28, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve been wanting to do a readalong (that doesn’t involve scaring myself to death because I’m kind of wimpy that way). I placed a hold at my library and hopefully the timing will work out for me to join in!

    • 16 Care January 28, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      Wonderful. And that is the cool thing about “Flexible/Informal” is that timing can and will overlap and that is allowed and understandable. We will all just have a nice warm place to visit and discuss and ask questions when we get around to it; at the exact time of “sooner or later”.

  9. 17 Jessica January 28, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Yay! I’m definitely in. I’m trying to get it read before the Tournament of Books starts in March. :)

  10. 19 Melissa January 29, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I want to read this one too and it’s already on my Kindle. I am doing The Shining readalong and hosting one for Vanity Fair in February, so I’m crossing my fingers for a bit later for this one. But I’ll probably join in regardless.

  11. 21 Amy January 30, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    I want to read this and have for a while. I’d love to join your readalong. I don’t have the book either so I’m going to check my library, see what the sitch is and go from there. And since I cannot seem to remember anything anymore in my old age (ack! heee, hee!) I’m going to make a note to check back here about the readalong. Another post it note for my computer…there’s got to be a better way! lol
    Thank you!


  1. 1 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Too Fond Trackback on February 25, 2013 at 12:08 am
  2. 2 The February Wrap-Up | Too Fond Trackback on March 1, 2013 at 12:08 am
  3. 3 The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller | Too Fond Trackback on March 26, 2013 at 1:10 am

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Whiskey Sour. A REAL whiskey sour. SO good

Goodreads

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

